Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2006, 09:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Share |
Default

Bad GFI outlet


I got a tingle from a wet saw (tile project) the other day, and was curious as to why the GFI didn't trip. I punched the test button and sure enough nothing happened. So my question is, do I just replace the recpticle with a new one and be done with it, or do I worry about what caused it to go bad in the first place? It is an outdoor recepticle on a detached garage with a leaky roof, so I worry about it getting wet. But there is no obvious signs of water in the electrical box, and presumably the outlets say "test monthly" (I wonder how many people do, but I'll being doing it more often from now on) for a reason. The outlet is about 8 years old. So how common is this?

LanterDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 10:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Bad GFI outlet


Pretty common. Especially for units installed outside. The elements getting in, however little, do have an effect.
Just replace it and don't worry. Do test them from time to time as you said.
Today's GFIs are MUCH better than 10 years ago as well.

Another thing I would do is install an "in-use" cover. This will keep the weather out even when things are plugged in.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 10:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Default

Bad GFI outlet


Wow Speedy Petey, you really are speedy. Thanks for the advice. I had already planned on replaceing the cover with one that was in better shape, and an in-use cover does make sense.
LanterDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
Bathroom outlet - distance from tub?? plbsplbs Electrical 11 07-09-2007 08:22 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.