Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2007, 02:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


I'll get right to the point. For some reason I was not getting power to the wall receptacles in my playroom, which has a dehumidifier clicking on and off normally to keep the place at a decent humidity. So I went straight to my 200 amp panel box. When I pulled the circuit breaker out I noticed it had a buildup of carbon or what ever, where it connects to the panel box bus. Also where, the male part of the bus slides into the circuit breaker, had a bunch of buildup on it to.

I then removed the buildup to on both sides of the bus insert with a foul and finished off with a diamond-based cloth which made things pretty clean. I then installed a new circuit breaker. I then finished off by blowing out the 200 amp Murray panel box with compressed air. My question now is did I do the right thing?

today is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 03:26 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


Normally a burnt bus connetion is not repairable depends on how bad it was. If it was me and I had some empty slots I would move the new breaker to the unused slots or I would consider a complete panel replacement.


Last edited by joed; 10-26-2007 at 06:25 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 03:59 PM   #3
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


This may sound like a silly question , but would you tell us the name brand, type, and approx. year of installation???
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 05:09 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


I bet it's an ITE, circa early 80's.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:08 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


Maybe a Zinsco. That was my gut..
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 11:20 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


joerd,

Thank you for the info. I talked to a local electrician, and he said what I did was just fine.

Now I have to make up my own mind and decide which is best. Leave it alone? or move it.


Andy: 200 amp Murray, CTL. Installed in the late 70s.
today is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 01:04 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


If you have the space in the panel it is very simple to move it. I would do it.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 01:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by today View Post
joerd,

Thank you for the info. I talked to a local electrician, and he said what I did was just fine.

Now I have to make up my own mind and decide which is best. Leave it alone? or move it.


Andy: 200 amp Murray, CTL. Installed in the late 70s.
Once the metal buss bar has heated once, it is more likely to heat again. The metal becomes dammaged.

If you are lucky, you can move the breaker to a new spot in the panel. You may need to replace the entire panel guts, or entire panel.

I would watch this breaker for signs of heating.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 11:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Bad connection at panel box.


The bus stabs (the part where it makes contact) on aluminum bussed panel is plated with a thin layer of tin. If you filed it away, it's not a matter of "if" it will go, but a matter of "when". The overheating doesn't make matters any better.

If you have space in the panel on the same phase as the burnt one, you need to put a NEW breaker in that space. If not, a panel change is necessary.

DuncanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.