Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 09:55 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


The generator feed circuit is sized for however large a generator you or someone else might put behind the house. For example a 50 amp generator would require #6 wires from the inlet to the panel (and a 50 amp breaker set in the panel for back feeding.)

The house branch circuit to supply power to the RV is sized for the amount of current the RV can draw from the house supply. The RV may have an attached cord and a plug whose shape specifies the amperes such as 20 or 30 or 50. Install a matching receptacle on the side of the house and string appropriate wires to the panel for example #10 wires for 30 amps.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-01-2012 at 08:39 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 11:03 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,665
Rewards Points: 2,290
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What is a change over switch?
It is a large DPDT switch !
Wired to the main panel,
so the main supply can be sourced from either the grid or genny,
But never from both.

In Australia they dont use mechanical interlocks,
It must by code be a proper change over switch.

Many people still use back feed cords thou !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:08 AM   #33
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
It is a large DPDT switch !
Wired to the main panel,
so the main supply can be sourced from either the grid or genny,
But never from both.

In Australia they dont use mechanical interlocks,
It must by code be a proper change over switch.

Many people still use back feed cords thou !
I know what a transfer switch is, I just never heard the term change over switch used before.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:06 AM   #34
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,151
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


Is this RV inside a garage? Sounds like a carbon monoxide problem---just sticking my nose in where it doesn't belong---Mike----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:17 AM   #35
Ntwrk. Systems Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


Nope, sits on an asphalt pad along side of the garage. The 5th Wheel is 40' long and 13' high. Wish I had a garage that big!
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:06 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Backfeed through RV Circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 5th_Time
Nope, sits on an asphalt pad along side of the garage. The 5th Wheel is 40' long and 13' high. Wish I had a garage that big!
That is an entirely different thread and I bet mike would be on it.

Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50a, generator, trailer


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 08:08 PM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 10:04 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.