Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

back to back outlet box


I have a single family dwelling with interior sheet rock walls. I am going to install a new outlet box on the backside of a wall that currently has an outlet box. What is the code requirement as to the location of this new outlet box? Can it be installed within the same stud cavity? A minimum distance requirement from original existing box?

Thanks

Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 09:00 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

back to back outlet box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Captflx View Post
I have a single family dwelling with interior sheet rock walls. I am going to install a new outlet box on the backside of a wall that currently has an outlet box. What is the code requirement as to the location of this new outlet box? Can it be installed within the same stud cavity? A minimum distance requirement from original existing box?

Thanks

It will be fine unless its some type of firewall...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 09:53 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

back to back outlet box


There is no code restriction about receptacle boxes on opposite side of wall.
There could be fire code regulations if this is a garage fire wall.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 10:03 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

back to back outlet box


Anyone ever see those 4.5" deep open back to back boxes?
By "open" I mean the one box is open to both sides of the wall.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 10:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

back to back outlet box


The current outlet box is in a bedroom and the ajoining wall is a hallway. By the answers here, I can put 2nd box in the hall wall in the same wall stud cavity as the bedroom outlet without violating an electric code.
Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 07:11 AM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

back to back outlet box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Anyone ever see those 4.5" deep open back to back boxes?
By "open" I mean the one box is open to both sides of the wall.
Yes, I've used them also...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 07:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

back to back outlet box


Thanks to all who helped.
Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 08:41 AM   #8
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

back to back outlet box


Don't forget that if your code requires arc fault breakers, you will have to add one at this point to be code compliant... that is if you don't have one already.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 10:49 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

back to back outlet box


He does not have to install an AFCI breaker to install an extra convenience receptacle. AFCI's are required in new construction and additions to existing structures.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 05:34 AM   #10
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

back to back outlet box


If you alter a circuit, then the circuit must meet current code.

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.