Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


I am in the process of taking a wall down. I found a rather thick greyish cable stapled to a 2x4. Some of the writing on it says 3CDRS AWG6 600V COMPACT AL, TRIPLE- E ALLOY, TYPE SE, STYLE U, TYPE XHHW etc, etc. It looks like a range wire, although the wire for my range is even thicker than this thing. The wire goes up, towards the bedroom. Without taking the ceiling down, I can't figure out what this cable does....

Elsewhere in the house, I found a spot where the electrician ran 12/3, and then split it into two circuits. You wouldn't normally do THAT with AWG6 cable would you??

I am wondering if this was run as a future for a dryer (though the gauge seems like overkill). Thoughts? Definitely for a range? (in the bedroom. lol??!!)

Thanks.

__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 06:52 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Garage or some type of outbuilding????

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,061
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Do you have any HVAC up in the attic? It could also be for a small sub panel.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Maybe a run for a future apartment in the upstairs?
Helper328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


So you all seem to think this would NOT be for an electric range? (in taking the wall down, I saw that 12/3 cable. It also goes up towards the bedroom, must run in the ceiling, then drops down to feed two circuits in the kitchen. So it is POSSIBLE that he may have run the range cable up like that then dropped down. It would make no sense, since it would have been much more direct to run in the basement ceiling and poke up into the range outlet, but it's possible).
Unfortunately (sort of) I recently had my electric panel redone, with an interlock generator kit. I can't figure out how to get the front panel off, because this cable goes into the panel. I am thinking it is attached to a breaker that is powered on!

I will def check the attic...makes me wonder if it might have been for HVAC....
__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,061
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


It could be for a range but to me your original post was kinda not pushing that idea. You have a cable going into the front cover of your panel???

Edit: oh nevermind. "this" cable must be refering to the mystery one.

Last edited by zappa; 02-08-2012 at 07:24 PM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:42 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


The best thing to do would be to look in the cover and find out what breaker it is and turn it off and see what stops working. If nothing stops working just leave it off till you find out what it is.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:52 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Could be for a range, or an indoor air handler unit with up to a 10 kW strip heater in it.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


No one going to mention that panel cover needs to be assesable and not have a cable hanging out of the front of it like that?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Quote:
Originally Posted by dougp23 View Post
I am in the process of taking a wall down. I found a rather thick greyish cable stapled to a 2x4. Some of the writing on it says 3CDRS AWG6 600V COMPACT AL, TRIPLE- E ALLOY, TYPE SE, STYLE U, TYPE XHHW etc, etc. It looks like a range wire, although the wire for my range is even thicker than this thing. The wire goes up, towards the bedroom. Without taking the ceiling down, I can't figure out what this cable does....

Elsewhere in the house, I found a spot where the electrician ran 12/3, and then split it into two circuits. You wouldn't normally do THAT with AWG6 cable would you??

I am wondering if this was run as a future for a dryer (though the gauge seems like overkill). Thoughts? Definitely for a range? (in the bedroom. lol??!!)

Thanks.
Were guessing, you need to find out what breaker powers it. Get an inexpensive non contact tester and check it for power ... turn off the range breaker, go to the se cable and hold the tester next to it ... see if it still has power. My guess would be the cable is on a 40 amp breaker.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:29 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,061
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
No one going to mention that panel cover needs to be assesable and not have a cable hanging out of the front of it like that?
That is the way I first took it also.

But I think he just is having a hard time removing the front cover because of the new interlock and his mystery wire is going into the panel normally.

P.S. Is anyone else noticing a security certificate error warning with IE browser? I'm seeing it on 3 different forums and it just started this evening.

Last edited by zappa; 02-08-2012 at 09:34 PM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:57 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


If there is a cable preventing you from getting the cover off ... that would be something we need to address ..... can you post a picture ? Otherwise there is no need to mess with the panel other than turning on or off breakers.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:07 AM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


I was getting the security warnings last night, but not this morning. I thought it was strange.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:26 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
That is the way I first took it also.

But I think he just is having a hard time removing the front cover because of the new interlock and his mystery wire is going into the panel normally.
Exactly! Sorry for my weird description. Guess I should just 'shut up and play my guitar', ey, Mr. Zappa? (private joke)
__________________
Pardon any typos, my IPad has a mind of it's own for spelling corrections!
dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:34 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,061
Rewards Points: 2
Default

AWG 6 Cable heads upstairs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I was getting the security warnings last night, but not this morning. I thought it was strange.
Thanks....my warning just disappeared not long ago as well.

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help sizing Generator cable dgajr Electrical 2 07-20-2010 12:07 AM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 10:20 AM
Running Sky+ cable bookersbeauty Electrical 1 04-09-2009 07:12 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
HVAC Upstairs QUESTION Statecowboy HVAC 1 09-15-2007 11:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.