Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2006, 09:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ?


Hello, I just bought a 3 year old Avanti small sized oven on Ebay, but after I bought it, the man told me that it does not come with a plug, that I would have to install one, a 220 volt plug, or hard wire the small electric oven. He also mentioned that I might need a 220 volt jack that it needs. I am a bit perplexed because I thought this avanti oven already had a simple plug that I could simply plug into any outlet. Can you please tell me what my options are now. I don't want to hard wire the oven into an electrical fuse box, I simply want to plug it in. I am also bringing this oven to Taiwan,
will that complicate things.
Thanks so much for your kind help. Rich

hongtea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 07:49 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ?


I'm not familiar with the product your talking about. There should be an access panel that you can open up and probaly will have wires sitting in there you can connect to, so you could either hardwire it in or install a plug on the end of a cord. Either route will involve haveing to add to your breaker panel. Without knowing the amperage I can not tell which type of plug you will need, they all use differnt style of plugs. I recommend getting a licensed electrician to help you, unless you are really confortable with electricity. If you do it yourself the only thing that may get cooked is yourself and you don't want that.

If you take it to Tawain chances are it will not work. Most other countries don't work on the 240/120 system we run on. Hopefully someone on here can give you a better answer.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 10:50 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ?


OK Rich, you have a mess of problems that could have been avoided had you done some checking before buying this thing.

First off, check the specs of the oven. You need to know the wattage rating. This tells you what size circuit it needs to be on.

I am very surprised that: a) it was not stated that this is a 240v applaince, or b) you did not know that it did not just plug in to a standard receptacle, and c) that this was all found out after the auction closed.

You will obviously need to have the proper circuit run (voltage AND amperage) to safely use this appliance.


Lastly, you want to bring this thing to ASIA?!?!!! Again, it would have benefited you to check the compatibility with the Asian electrical systems.
I HIGHLY doubt this will be compatible. You can get converters, but the cost and trouble are IMO not worth it. A converter for a small electronic item is one thing, but a high wattage converter is an expensive thing.
In fact it puzzles me why so many folks try to save money by buying large appliances over here and haul them thousands of miles (shipping them -$$$), only having to go through a bunch of hassle getting them to work.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 07:38 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ?


Oh man .,, the Aisa electrical system is 240 volt line to netural and also they are on 50 HZ so two thing that the electronic contol may not work with the 50 HZ system and also the safety issue with their system.

and really somecase it really better off sell it before you move to other country due the equiment cost and some case it very differcalt to convert to other voltage and HZ as well.

and they have diffrent electrical code and i am not really famiur with Aisa electical system so i really can't comment on that part.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 08:07 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ?


You might not be able to legally install a cord also.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 04:33 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 10:21 AM
Gas oven does not work; pilot light on, stovetop works fine kathleentsy Appliances 1 05-22-2007 05:05 PM
Is my oven a dodgy shape? SiBG Appliances 2 09-25-2006 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.