Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2008, 06:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Autommatic transfer switch/generator question


I picked up a 12kw home standby generator. It is a Eliiot Maknetek (now genmac). I also picked up a Generac 100 amp transfer switch. I am clear on everything except the following. The controller in the generator senses the loss of utility power and will start the genset. I believe the transfer panel senses the loss of power and switches to standby mode AND looks to send a signal to start the generator. Am I going to have any problems letting these to do their own thing? I plan on running a few tests on the ATS just to see how it behaves before I install this. If the transfer panel does not switch to standby until it senses 240 on the generator input side I think am good. If it does switch before it senses 240 I may have more work to do. Here is basic panel info

Model Number RTS-N-100A3
No. of Poles 2
Current Rating (amps) 100
60 Hz Phase Single
Voltage Rating (VAC) 250
Utility Voltage Monitor (fixed)
Pickup 70% 70%
Dropout 60% 60%
Return to Utility 15 seconds
Exerciser 15 min. weekly * Standard
UL 1008 Listed Standard Standard
Dimensions (H" x W" x D") 20x15x7
Enclosure Type NEMA 3R Outdoor Rated
Unit Wt. (lbs.) 35

I appreciate any input.
Thanks,
Joe


Last edited by jbboater; 03-22-2008 at 06:47 AM. Reason: spelling
jbboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 07:53 AM   #2
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Autommatic transfer switch/generator question


If the ATS is operating properly it wont transfer until the stand by source is at or above the pick up voltage, and the time delay(if equipped) has been met.

__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.

Last edited by wire_twister; 03-22-2008 at 07:54 AM. Reason: spelling
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 10:35 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,856
Rewards Points: 2,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Autommatic transfer switch/generator question


The ATS will have a set of "run the generator" contacts that close when power goes out. These contacts are used by generator to signal a start the generator sequence. Sort off a run or kill switch. In your setup this function is built into the generator so you will simply not use the contacts. The generator will start on its own. The ATS won't know the difference of its contacts starting the generator or the generator starting on its own. It will simply sense the generator as running do its transfer.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 phase generator feeding a 2 phase transfer switch MAP40 Electrical 12 01-01-2009 07:38 AM
Whole house automatic transfer switch? TronCarter Electrical 27 03-19-2008 08:39 PM
Furnace Transfer Switch... caseywa HVAC 16 02-18-2008 09:14 AM
Transfer Switching Cape8p Electrical 12 12-19-2005 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.