Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 08:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


I have a 2009 model Aurora Diesel Portable Generator with a brushless generator. The problem I am having is it puts out electricity at 49 to 54 HZ. I have tried to raise the diesel rpms but have had no luck. The company advised I replace the capaciter which I have, No change. Can anyone recomend anything or in the area of central Kentucky, someone I can get who can work on this generator for me ? This is agravating ! it has 15.1 hours on it. I am not sure that it ever ran at 60 Hertz.

grayghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:41 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Frequency should be controlled by the speed of the diesel. Normal RPM of diesel generator is 1800RPM.
Is the loaded or unloaded frequency. Adding some load could stabilize it.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Hello, I have a 3600 rpm portable generator (Sorry I did not mention that). The rpm range is 3420. I do not know how to raise the rpm's over what the govenor base movement gives you. I tried removing shims from the feul pump but wound up with black smoke so I put it back (It had three shims).
grayghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:01 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Well that is your problem. It needs to be 3600 RPM. Sorry I can tell you how but the governor needs to be adjusted somehow.

You might try Aurora's site. You might find the manual for your engine.

http://www.auroragenerators.com/resources/downloads

Or try the discussion forum about Aurora engines.

http://www.auroragenerators.com/forum
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:50 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,884
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


If the generator's running at 3420 rpm, the output should be 57 Hz, not 49-54 Hz. That's usually close enough for any load except maybe electronics.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:27 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Hello md2lgy, The accuracy of the equipment I was using might be the problem with that number, I got a range and just showed the average. I am just trying to find a way to raise the rpm.
grayghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,884
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Gotcha. I was a generator mechanic in the military for a lot of years, and even the smallest (2KW) units had some form of manual speed adjustment. But a lot of "civilian" units (perhaps most) do not. I have a 3KW RV generator, and it has no adjustable speed control. What you really need is a manual for your unit.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:58 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Do you really need 60Hz? Most electronics will tolerate 50Hz just fine.... but clocks will run slower.

I say don't fuss with it too much unless you really, really need 60Hz.
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:02 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Aurora Diesel Generator


Hello, In my situation, I noticed I had a problem during a 6 hour power outage. We first noticed the microwave was not warming up nrmal items. I went to the basement and noticed the flourescent fixture light was having trouble coming on.

grayghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 05:28 PM
Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator tibberous Electrical 6 02-19-2012 10:03 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 10:14 PM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.