Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-24-2009, 08:27 PM   #1

Share |

Aube ti034-3w lightswitch wiring

I was hoping someone could tell me how to hook up the wires on an Aube TI034-3W light switch I just bought. This will control the lights outside my garage. There is only one switch to these lights, so I'm assuming this means it's a single-pole installation.

There are three black wires that come out of the Aube switch, labeled 1, 2, and C.

There are three wires coming out of the wall. Two black wires, stripped at the end, and one long wire with no insulation. This may be a "ground" wire if I've learned anything from my limited ceiling fan installation knowledge, but I don't know. Obviously I have little electrical knowledge.

I've already removed the existing switch. The ground (?) wire and two black wires were attached in appropriate-looking places, but nothing was labeled on the existing switch.

Can anyone tell me which wires should connect to which? The new switch's manual is below, as well as pictures of my wall. In the manual, it looks like wires 2 and C should be connected, but I have two black wires coming out of the wall that went into my old switch... does that mean one of them should be ignored?

TI034-3W manual:
http://www.aubetech.com/manuel/2/TI034.pdf

Picture 1: http://i44.tinypic.com/21n4d3l.jpg

Picture 2: http://i41.tinypic.com/2pydm4w.jpg

Picture 3: http://i40.tinypic.com/wguk8x.jpg

Picture 4: http://i42.tinypic.com/zxve2v.jpg

Local Dimwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:43 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to Bocolo