Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 12:56 AM   #1
Renovating My Land Yacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gulf Coast MS
Posts: 543
Rewards Points: 552
Default

Attic wiring over joists


Was reading the below thread that talked about protecting wiring in an attic and I think we have an "ut oh" that needs to be fixed.

Our wiring runs perpendicular to the joists all over the attic. Currently its not stapled over the joists although I can do that if necessary.

The attic is accessible by permanent pull down stairs but we do not use the attic space for storage.

If this is the case, do we have to staple or cover the wires that are there to protect them?

Again if we are not using the attic for storage do we have to cover the wires within 6 feet and does the 6 foot rule apply to overhead wiring up there or just the wiring on the ground.

History -we flooded and are rebuilding the lower half and will have an inspection but supposedly they will not back check us for items unless they are considered a safety issue and I can see this as being one so want to be up to date.

Thanks


Romex wires in attic questions

forcedreno2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:57 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

Attic wiring over joists


When was the wiring installed? The code has changed over the years. Why do you think this is an issue?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 10:22 PM   #3
Renovating My Land Yacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gulf Coast MS
Posts: 543
Rewards Points: 552
Default

Attic wiring over joists


Jim we are rebuilding after a hurricane flood.

The wiring itself was done in 1991 and is 12/2 through out the house and is in really good condition and was wired by a master (I would pay to be able to twist wires like the dude that did it originally) ....its the newer added later stuff we had to rip out and correct.

When you rebuild they are checking to make sure that the house is safe. They will be up in the attic inspecting the new AC and I want to make sure I don't get pinged on something else if its a big deal.

Right now there is spaghetti wires all over the place that are not secured.
forcedreno2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Knee Walls in the Attic Jimmybrp Building & Construction 12 12-23-2011 02:22 PM
Ideas on reinforcing attic joists PhaTea Building & Construction 22 12-07-2011 10:41 PM
Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring? scool Electrical 6 11-11-2010 12:23 PM
Wiring Protection for Accessible Attic BillyDIY Electrical 6 11-05-2009 09:44 PM
Running New Wiring to Attic PCC Electrical 12 02-08-2008 05:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.