Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2010, 05:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

attic wiring to detached garage


I would like to run either cable or wire (3#6, 1#8) through the attic to the new detached garage. Are these required to be in conduit? Can they be run loose across the tops of the ceiling joists?

del jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:09 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

attic wiring to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by del jones View Post
I would like to run either cable or wire (3#6, 1#8) through the attic to the new detached garage. Are these required to be in conduit? Can they be run loose across the tops of the ceiling joists?
A cable asembly(nm),(ser) CAN BE BUT NOT INDIVIDUAL conductors.

Through the attic to a detached garage?

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

attic wiring to detached garage


Is there a breezeway or similar structure to the 'detached' garage?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 12:52 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

attic wiring to detached garage


you lost me on this one too!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 03:48 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

attic wiring to detached garage


You did not give us very clear details however.,

Let say you are plan to run this in underground set up with conduit the conduit you will need THHN/THWN conductors in conduit.

or run the 16mmX3 {6-3} NM cable until just before you run it outside you will have to make a junction box to translated from NM to THHN/THWN conduit from there you can run it to the detached garage.

For the junction box I really strongly recomened that you get 6X6X4 box size due you will have little more room to work around to hook it up properly.

BTW the conduit it will have to be buried 450mm { 18 inches } deep if not in conduit then it will bump more deeper to 600mm { 24 inches }


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Critique my wiring plan for my garage tigereye Electrical 10 03-24-2009 10:55 PM
Garage ceiling and attic storage DIY KEN Building & Construction 7 01-06-2009 05:57 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 08:31 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.