Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


Hello, I have recently created access to my attic to add insulation. I had to cut a hole in the ceiling in a closet. I was surprised to find 8-9" of blown in cellulose. I want to add another 8" and found that there is k&t wiring covered up by the insulation.

Can I add more insulation evn the the k&t is covered?
thanks

tiki16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:12 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


What do you mean by covered? Already covered in insulation or you are going to remove any insulation near the wiring and then cover it?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:17 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


K&T is an open air system. It is not supposed to be covered in anything.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


I was going to add additional insulation since it is already covered.
tiki16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:21 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


No, in fact, it is a real fire hazard when it is covered like that. You need to do something about it. Either remove the insulation contacting the wiring, or call an electrician to discuss removing the knob and tube.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


That's what I thought. I have no idea how they got it in there. There wasn't any access till I cut the opening.
tiki16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:14 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

attic insulation and k&T wiring


They go through the roof vents to add it.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracing Down Old K&T Neutral Wiring AngelArs Electrical 24 09-11-2012 09:00 PM
New Home: 2 Prong Outlets & K&T Wiring (Maybe) weekley14 Electrical 4 05-29-2012 07:56 AM
Switch on K&T wiring - OK to pigtail? fdmillion Electrical 4 01-27-2010 09:15 AM
Omg! K&t!! tinman73 Electrical 1 05-18-2008 09:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.