Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2011, 02:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


Looking to install a 1600CFM gable mount attic fan with prewired thermostat. Specs are confusing because one sticker on the fan says 120V 60Hz 4.0A but then another sticker on the motor itself says 120V 60Hz 3.2A.

Either way, how do I determine if it's OK to simply splice into the receptacle box that is in the ceiling of the garage? (it only has the garage door opener plugged into it)


I know I can turn off the circuit breaker, undo the wires in the receptacle box and add the 12/2 wires that run to the fan's thermostat (like the picture above), then screw cap & tape the connections, button it back up, secure the wiring to the rafters, and turn the breaker back on. But how do I know if that's too much draw for that circuit?

Also, I'm still not sure about the legality of it. I'm confused about the need for a permit, or even having an electrician do the wiring entirely.

I'm essentially in Memphis, TN if that helps.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.


Last edited by 98SS; 07-24-2011 at 02:42 PM.
98SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:45 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


Unless the garage door opener is the only thing on the circuit you need to find out the other loads on the circuit and see if there is headroom for the additional load. Your existing circuit would also need to be grounded in order to extend it.

Some areas allow homeowners to do wiring in their houses, other areas require permits to be pulled by licensed electricians.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
you need to find out the other loads on the circuit and see if there is headroom for the additional load.
I can find out what else is on it. How do I determine if there is headroom?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Some areas allow homeowners to do wiring in their houses, other areas require permits to be pulled by licensed electricians.
Yeah, I know that. I don't know what is allowed/required here.
I did find this ...
http://www.shelbycountytn.gov/index.aspx?nid=390


Which, in the Electrical section, the very first sentence under the requirements section makes me think I can't do this.
http://www.shelbycountytn.gov/index.aspx?NID=535


.

Last edited by 98SS; 07-24-2011 at 03:40 PM.
98SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:45 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


It sounds like you need to hire this out.

As far as headroom, can you provide a list of what else was on the circuit?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:42 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


I called our Electrical Department and they said I can do it if I pass the Homeowner's Electrical Exam (free) and then pull the permit ($35). I figure that taking the exam can't hurt since it's free. At the end of it, I'd know for sure whether I want to do it or if I'll be forced to hire it out regardless of what I know.

Off the top of my head and not able to go home and check right now, I would assume that the other receptacle in the garage is on that circuit, but there is only one. (One in the wall, one in the ceiling for the garage door.) The one in the wall usually has a 12V cordless drill charging on it and sometimes I plug in my bench grinder, but that's not often at all.
I'll have to check this evening to see if any of the nearby rooms are also on that circuit.
98SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It sounds like you need to hire this out.
I'm going to get it quoted hoping the cost will motivate me to pass the test.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
As far as headroom, can you provide a list of what else was on the circuit?
After 30 minutes or more of flipping breakers and going around checking receptacles and lights, I'm pretty much 100% sure that the only thing on that breaker is the receptacle in the garage ceiling that the door opener is plugged into. Once I got that one disabled, every receptacle and light anywhere near the garage was still working. Even the lights in the garage ceiling and the one receptacle in the garage wall were all still working.
98SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 11:27 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attic Fan Installation - Wiring to Power Source


I'm looking to install an attic fan with an automatic thermostate. I have a three prong electric outlet in my attic. Is there a way to wire the fan so that it can be plugged into the outlet?

thank you!

jmedawar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attic fan, circuit, permit, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring thermostat controlled attic fan mazey Electrical 21 08-29-2011 02:08 PM
wiring a 4 gang box/4 switches/1 power in sourek Electrical 3 01-04-2010 12:39 AM
Wiring Protection for Accessible Attic BillyDIY Electrical 6 11-05-2009 08:44 PM
Attic wiring question everyman Electrical 4 07-07-2009 09:47 AM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.