Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Share |
Default

Attic electric


Going to add a subpanel to walk in attis for my home theater room. What size wire do I need to run up to it from the basement to feed the panel?Going to have electric wall heaters not sure if 110 or 220 yet. Also how many wires would it be ? 3 for 110 and 4 for 220. I will have to run 2 110 circuits up there to get 220 right.

Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 02:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Attic electric


You will need to know the load 1st to determine wire size
Heaters can pull a lot of amps
You would be running 4 wires: 2 hots, neutral & a ground to the panel for a 120/240v panel

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raccoons in the attic electricpete Pest Control 17 05-12-2011 04:02 AM
Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation earthad1 Building & Construction 81 02-18-2011 12:42 PM
Finished attic humidity? kcrossley2 HVAC 2 08-11-2009 05:06 AM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM
thermostat and humidity controls for electric attic fans lowlysubaruguy Roofing/Siding 2 09-25-2008 07:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.