Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 01:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Hi there,

I want to run ~15ft of PVC conduit so I can add an additional halogen light for the back yard. I plan on tapping into the existing lamp and making the run to the opposite side of garage. I have all the parts but I need to know how to attach the conduit to a stucco wall.

Thanks

Rich

RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:31 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Screws would be an obvious answer.
Are you asking how to screw into stucco? That depends on how thick it is. If it is pretty thick you'll need a hammer drill or a couple of hammer drill bits for a regular drill, and some concrete screws, like Tapcons.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,560
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Any reason to not do this from the inside of the garage, sure would look better then exposed conduit.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:52 AM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


What is the stucco attached to? Wood, concrete, foam?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-16-2013)
Old 02-16-2013, 12:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Any reason to not do this from the inside of the garage, sure would look better then exposed conduit.
I agree and would find a way to do it from inside.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:52 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


I also agree on going inside. If you have the typical California garage that is not finished inside, just pull the existing lamp off...fish new wires back through and run them down to the new location. If you don't plan on finishing the inside of your garage....just use EMT of PVC conduit with THHN wire. If you plan to finish the inside, then drill the studs and run Romex. It will look a whole lot better.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
electures (02-16-2013)
Old 02-16-2013, 03:57 PM   #7
Newbie
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 13
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


The stucco is rougly 1/2 in or so, inside the garage the areas I see looks like tar paper and chicken wire/hardware cloth. I would rung through the inside of the garage but the previous owner partially finished the inside of teh garage and I would have to tear that stuff down to get access. I dont like the idea of having conduit outside either, so maybe I'll rethink this one a bit more before doing anything.
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:17 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Actually, your stucco is going to be more like 1" thick. Your garage sounds just like mine did.

Can you post pics?

I'm thinking you have some 'attic' space to work with.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:27 PM   #9
Newbie
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 13
Default

Attaching PVC Conduit to stucco


Thanks DDawg,

LOL! and yep, I think 1" is more likely, I was only guessing for the post.
I couldnt reply back to your pm, not enough posts to be allowed to send pm's.

I'll get some pics up tomorrow: Outside & inside correct?

RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching Lean-To to Stucco Home TipsyMcStagger Building & Construction 4 10-03-2012 10:52 AM
Attaching 2" Schedule PVC conduit to the bottom of a mobile home rrolleston Electrical 2 01-25-2012 07:54 PM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM
Attaching Leger Board To Stucco John Charles Building & Construction 0 12-28-2009 01:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.