Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 05:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 161
Share |
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Can a ground wire be attached to any screw in this box? like the big screw in the middle?

I'm wondering because new vanity lights have their own ground wires, and it doesn't look like there's anything to screw it to.
Attached Thumbnails
attaching ground wire in this box-img108.jpg   attaching ground wire in this box-img107.jpg  


Last edited by pman6; 05-02-2013 at 05:23 PM.
pman6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:56 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Screws used for ground wires shall not be used for any other purpose. You could drill and tap the box for a 10-32 machine screw. Unless that box is very old it is probably already tapped.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:53 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 477
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


That sure looks like a pancake box and I don't see a connector for the cable. It looks like all four 1/2 knockouts in the back of the box are intact and their should not be knockouts in the sides of a round box.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:00 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


I thought it looked like a 4 square with a round plaster ring. Never seen a pancake without a straight edged side.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:02 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


It looks like a 1900 box with a round plaster ring. Some of the rear knockouts are partially hidden, making me think this is not a pancake type box. There is additional room inside.

Drill and tap a threaded hole for a green screw is one way to attach a grounding pigtail for the fixture ground wires. I seem to recall this same photo in another thread about grounding ... <checking> ... ahh here it is.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:09 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 477
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


I've seen plenty of fully round pancake boxes. However, you are probably right that this is a 1900 box, but I've never seen one mounted to a bar hanger before.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:40 AM   #7
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Use a grounding clip instead. If the fixture grounding conductor is too small, take a piece of #14, install under the clip to make a ground tail, and splice to the fixture wire to the ground tail.

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:45 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


The ground clip only works properly on a straight edge. The one shown is domed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:51 AM   #9
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The ground clip only works properly on a straight edge. The one shown is domed.
What about installing the ground clip close to the tapped holes on the mudring?
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:54 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


I don't think there is enough flat area to get the proper contact area.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:33 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 477
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


If the box really has ground continuity, then drilling and tapping a 10/32 hole is the easy and correct way to go.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 729
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
If the box really has ground continuity, then drilling and tapping a 10/32 hole is the easy and correct way to go.

Mark

yeah..is the box even itself grounded?
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Seattle2k For This Useful Post:
Willie T (05-02-2013)
Old 05-02-2013, 12:13 PM   #13
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
If the box really has ground continuity, then drilling and tapping a 10/32 hole is the easy and correct way to go.

Mark
Tapping a hole is certainly the best method, but using a grounding clip is also correct. It meets the requirements of 250.8, when listed and installed per specs.

Looks to me like a grounding clip might work for the OP, but it's hard to say without actually trying myself. Just giving another option.

If it was me, I'd tap the box. Much better connection.
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 161
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


I attached another close up pic of inside the box.

it's not square, but it's deep and has side knock outs.

House was built in 1966, and all the boxes are metal, so I think they should be grounded.
pman6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:33 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

attaching ground wire in this box


A metal box does not mean it is grounded. The wiring method needs to have a ground before the box is grounded. Otherwise is is just floating.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 02:29 AM
Adding a ground wire to a fixture? dkeith Electrical 2 06-01-2011 08:08 PM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.