Attached Garage, No Sub Panel, Seperate Grounding Rod - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2010, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


I am replacing the cable run that feeds my garage outlets. It is fed from the basement ceiling through the joist into the garage. In the house the old wiring connected to a circuit in the basement room closest to the garage. The cable was a 12/2 no ground. In the garage it connects in a splice box where the circuit continues to the garage outlets. That splice box has a seperate copper wire running down to garage wall, passes to the exterior of the garage and attaches to a grounding rod.

Hope that makes sense so far. Now my question:

Should I just run new 12/2 no ground cable?
or
Run 12/2 w/ ground and tie into the rest of the circuit at the splice box as it was before except in addition to the previous connections, also connect the ground from the 12/2 cable to the existing garage grounding system.
or
Run 12/2 w/ ground and tie in at the splice box but disconnect the seperate grounding rod from the circuit completely?
or
something completely different.

thanks

Advertisement

danocars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


I'd run 12-3 with ground for 2 circuits
You need a ground wire no matter what now

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


assuming a run of 12/3, how about the rod that was serving the garage: leave it connected in the circuit or omit it?
danocars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:43 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,975
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I'd run 12-3 with ground for 2 circuits
You need a ground wire no matter what now
What Dave said. That ground rod is totally useless unless it is connected to the house grounding electrode system.

Last edited by brric; 03-15-2010 at 04:51 PM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


I'll phrase my remaing question a different way.

The grounding rod is no longer needed and can thus be disconnected. Correct?
(since its purpose is now being served by the ground in the cable running from the house into the garage.)
danocars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:59 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


I should probably clarify that the house is is wired with equipment grounding so the new cable will tie into a circuit leading back to the existing grounding system at the service panel.
danocars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 06:27 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,346
Rewards Points: 3,486
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Attached Garage, No sub panel, seperate grounding rod


Only one ground point is permitted per structure.
YES you must remove the ground rod at the garage.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , garage , ground , grounding , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
detatched garage sub panel ponch37300 Electrical 4 08-03-2009 06:22 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Detached Garage Sub Panel Grounding Q integlikewhoa Electrical 13 01-01-2008 07:22 AM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts