Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Asbestos wire?


Wondering if anyone has been wire insulation like this before. Could it be insulated with asbestos?
Attached Thumbnails
Asbestos wire?-image-2118874478.jpg  

RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 526
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Asbestos wire?


Yes I have seen and no there is no asbestos on it. Early 50's wire I think.

framer52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Asbestos wire?


Hmmm, is that so?

House was built in 1967 as far as I know
RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,247
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Asbestos wire?


I have a house full of it. Built 1959. No asbestos as far as I know.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:06 PM   #5
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,251
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

Asbestos wire?


I too have a house that was built in 1959 with that style of insulation. Could it have asbestos in the insulation? Of course, there were tens of thousands of products produced with asbestos in them. The topic of "Does X have asbestos in it" has been discussed repeatedly on this forum over the past few years, do a search if you care to. The only way to tell if X contains asbestos is to have it professionally tested by a qualified laboratory.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (04-24-2013)
Old 04-22-2013, 06:13 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Asbestos wire?


If that old rag wiring had Asbestos in it, every electrician on the planet would already be dead. The only hazard from that old pitch impregnated cloth (it's sheathing, not insulation) is having black hands for a few days.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia

Last edited by busman; 04-22-2013 at 07:55 PM. Reason: Grammer
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (04-22-2013)
Old 04-22-2013, 06:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Asbestos wire?


I had a house that was built around 1965 and it was full of that type wiring. it is ok till it gets brittle and you try to work with it, it just crumbles.
merle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Asbestos wire?


Asbestos danger is way overrated anyway, but still, that cable probably DOES have some trace of the stuff. It was used in everything back then, even diapers (OK, maybe not, but you get the idea).

However, even if it does contain asbestos, it poses no danger at all unless it is manipulated. The covering is an encapsulation due to paint or other coating applied. The friable fibers are contained.

If you want to move it around, simply wear a face mask, glasses and gloves, clean up the work area when you are finished, vacuum your clothes before laundering and take a shower. You will not die.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to al_smelter For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (04-23-2013), stickboy1375 (04-23-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 10:39 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Asbestos wire?


Well my biggest concern with it is with the resale of the home. But I have no idea if home inspections are keen on that sort of thing.

RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.