Armored Cable Replacement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2011, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armored Cable replacement


First time home buyer here, removed a piece of drywall that exposed romex going in front of the metal junction box where the outlet goes. Everything running through junction box is armored cable, for the kitchen outlets and the Refrigerator, microwave and a few other things all on the same circuit including the lights.

Figured I'd run new 12/2 romex to the Fridge, (fridge non gfci dedicated 20 amp line) and the counter space run 20amp gfci outlet for 3 outlets. Gfci first outlet and the other 2 ran off that outlet to protect the 2 others as well. Ran the lines through holes drilled in the floor joists to panel. Correct?

Armored cable is spliced in the walls and attic, with no bonding of the armor, for a grounding purpose. Is this safe? Should it be replaced, or should I electrical tape it so it stays more secure and let it be? It is cloth armored cable. House is from 50s

Advertisement


Last edited by kmk7110; 09-03-2011 at 07:29 AM.
kmk7110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:55 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Also would there be any way to bond the 2 armored cables together to get the desired effect of a ground?

Advertisement

kmk7110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 09:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Proper metal box.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 12:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 243
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Your wiring run sounds correct. The fridge will be fine with a 15amp circuit but if you don't have any 14/2, the 12/2 is fine.

Get a metal j box with clamps. Armored cable will be grounded as it comes in the box and leaves through the box itself. This is also the proper and safe way to cover the splices.

Remember though code says the box has to be accessible. You'll need to put a blank cover over the box and you can't cover it over with drywall.

You also might want to check the splices and redo them properly if necessary (twist connectors secured with electrical tape).

Last edited by matt151617; 09-03-2011 at 12:17 PM.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 05:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by kmk7110

Figured I'd run new 12/2 romex to the Fridge, (fridge non gfci dedicated 20 amp line) and the counter space run 20amp gfci outlet for 3 outlets. Gfci first outlet and the other 2 ran off that outlet to protect the 2 others as well. Ran the lines through holes drilled in the floor joists to panel. Correct?
In canada we are allowed only 2 20 amp receptacles for counter plughs
Olsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 05:09 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt151617 View Post

You also might want to check the splices and redo them properly if necessary (twist connectors secured with electrical tape).
You MUST re-do the splices if they are in free air with no box. Without question.

Also, do not tape up wire nuts. There is absolutely NO reason for it.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-03-2011)
Old 09-03-2011, 05:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olsy View Post
In canada we are allowed only 2 20 amp receptacles for counter plughs
He's from Wisconsin so it really doesn't matter. And you're wrong as well.

FYI:

26-722 (b) - paraphrase
at least 2 branch circuits shall be provided for receptacles (15A or 20A t-slot) installed for kitchen counters in dwelling units
(i) no more than 2 receptacles on a branch circuit
(ii) no other outlets connected to these circuits
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 06:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 243
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Also, do not tape up wire nuts. There is absolutely NO reason for it.
Really? The books I've read always said to. Provides an extra level of security in case the twist connector somehow came loose. I have found a splice before that probably never had grabbed onto the wires, but it stayed in place by the electrical tape.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 06:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt151617 View Post
Really? The books I've read always said to. Provides an extra level of security in case the twist connector somehow came loose. I have found a splice before that probably never had grabbed onto the wires, but it stayed in place by the electrical tape.
If that's true, it wasn't done properly in the first place. There is no need for tape on twist ons......ever
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:09 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt151617 View Post
Really? The books I've read always said to. Provides an extra level of security in case the twist connector somehow came loose. I have found a splice before that probably never had grabbed onto the wires, but it stayed in place by the electrical tape.
It is ABSOLUTELY no "safer" with the tape. If the nut is being held on by tape it was not installed right in the first place and the tape is only keeping a lose wirenut from falling off a bad splice.

I dare say 85% of what is in DIY books is not correct and most of it is not common professional practice. Why do you think so many of them have been recalled?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-03-2011)
Old 09-03-2011, 08:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapCharlie View Post
He's from Wisconsin so it really doesn't matter. And you're wrong as well.

FYI:

26-722 (b) - paraphrase
at least 2 branch circuits shall be provided for receptacles (15A or 20A t-slot) installed for kitchen counters in dwelling units
(i) no more than 2 receptacles on a branch circuit
(ii) no other outlets connected to these circuits
Curious. Why only 2 receptacles on a circuit for a kitchen counter?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 08:42 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Armored Cable replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Curious. Why only 2 receptacles on a circuit for a kitchen counter?
Just for convenience. So you're not tripping breakers when you're running a kitchenaid, 1000W hot plate, toaster....etc.

Advertisement

CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burying Coax Cable Master Brian Electrical 4 08-07-2011 03:21 PM
crispy cable! Why wouldn't a breaker trip? morganhammer Electrical 4 04-05-2011 12:33 PM
Need Advice Old Metal NM Cable Anchors bltglt507 Electrical 15 12-18-2009 05:31 PM
How to work with armored cable? Red Squirrel Electrical 11 09-22-2009 12:27 PM
armored cable tomfag Electrical 25 10-30-2008 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts