Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 03:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Share |
Default

Armored Cable Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
Only one wire per screw, for they grounds you will have to use either a ground "clamp" I know that is not what its called but I can't think of what it is called. It is a peice of copper that you put the grounds into and use a pliers to clamp down on the side. Or use a green grounding wirenut. It has a hole on the top to put ONE of the ground wires through but both go in the nut and then you twist it. Connect that one wire to the ground.

I think its a crimp or something like that...I remember when some electrician put 2 wires under one screw in my house...

Whats your picture of? training? actual incident?

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 05:48 PM   #17
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Armored Cable Question


It is just a pic of training at the Berks County Training Center. If you google it you can find their website. It is considered the best burn building to the East of the Mississippi. Philly Fire Department wants to come down and use the facility. But anyway I am under 18 so I couldn't go in so they let us Juniors fight a "garage fire". I am not sure what code says that it is only one conductor under a screw but I will look it up My book is upstairs.
__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:07 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Armored Cable Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
It is just a pic of training at the Berks County Training Center. If you google it you can find their website. It is considered the best burn building to the East of the Mississippi. Philly Fire Department wants to come down and use the facility. But anyway I am under 18 so I couldn't go in so they let us Juniors fight a "garage fire". I am not sure what code says that it is only one conductor under a screw but I will look it up My book is upstairs.

Ah, That sounds like fun...wish I could do it...always been interested in that stuff aswell.

If the screw accepts two wires then its all code (like cbs, etc.)

I know receptacles aren't one of them. I usually use wirenuts anyways, they feel much tighter. Just twist the wires nice and tight with a lineman's pliers, cut the twist, and put the nut on.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NM to Armored Cable Transition? toddmanqa Electrical 8 10-31-2008 03:29 PM
armored cable tomfag Electrical 25 10-30-2008 08:24 AM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-18-2008 11:03 PM
Which type of Armored cable. helpless handyman Electrical 4 12-01-2007 09:04 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.