Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armored cable/bx needed for pot lights?


hi there!

I'm redoing a room in my basement and have ripped out the drywall ceiling. I'm installing 6 non-IC potlights (home depot Commercial Electric HBR107H)

As I'm not sure what's on the existing lighting circuit (the former owner has done some odd things here) I'm putting in a new 15A breaker and 3 single pole switches (2 pots per switch) to give myself the level of control on them.

I've run 14/2 romex from power to switch box and from switch box to pots. While starting to do the connections I noticed on the junction box for the cans it mentions flex.

i haven't been able to find anywhere that says I need to use flex with these rather than romex, but wanted to confirm before I finish the install and get an electrician in to do the final check. Some advice would be appreciated!

(Notes: the room is a total of 12' x 8' so far more light than i'll need under normal circumstances, hence the 3 sets of lights. I've used the suspension bars to hang the cans between the studs, least 2-3" between the cans and any wires OTHER than the ones servicing the cans. about a 1" gap between the top of the junction box and the ceiling above. No insulation in the ceiling. I've used the standard electrical "staples" to hold the romex to the sides of the studs and when all is done will be drywalling the ceiling again)

dblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 08:37 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Armored cable/bx needed for pot lights?


As long as romex is allowed in your area, you are good to go.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armored cable/bx needed for pot lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
As long as romex is allowed in your area, you are good to go.
Perfect, thanks!

I've actually already swapped the cans out for an IC model, but I'll double check local regs and use them elsewhere.

Thanks again!
dblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pot lights, recessed lighting


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 09:25 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM
Added can lights, tripping GFI tandyt Electrical 3 05-18-2008 10:55 AM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.