Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2008, 08:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

armored cable


how do i get grounded outlets going from armored cable (2 wire) to modern romex 3 wire? i ran a circuit off armored cable with romex and my outlets are not grounded n thanks

tomfag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 08:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: south La.
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

armored cable


Use a tightly secured BX or TMC connector on the panel and receptical box and use a bond jumper from the box to the receptical . The armor will be your ground in that situation .

electro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 08:43 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by electro View Post
Use a tightly secured BX or TMC connector on the panel and receptical box and use a bond jumper from the box to the receptical . The armor will be your ground in that situation .

This is only true if the BX has a internal bonding strip. Otherwise it can never be used as a ground. Also, just buy self grounding receptacles and forget about the bonding jumper from box to device.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


If your working with bx, it needs to have a small bare aluminum or copper wire inside called a "bonding strip" as chris said. This isn't looked over much, and if it is avoided, can cause more problems than you had before...

REMEMBER, when working with bx, if you replace the bushing inside, you need a new one.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:02 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
This is only true if the BX has a internal bonding strip. Otherwise it can never be used as a ground. Also, just buy self grounding receptacles and forget about the bonding jumper from box to device.
I am just pig tailing my ground... But, FYI, these self-grounding outlets are not as easily found as one would hope. I checked all the regular (no GF) outlets at Mendards and could not find one with the self grounding clip. I also checked all of them at our local hardware, and again none with self-grounding tabs...

They mainly have the P&S brand.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: south La.
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

armored cable


Your right about the bonding strip . A bonding jumper would be a better application and is required in some areas .
electro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:13 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by electro View Post
Your right about the bonding strip . A bonding jumper would be a better application and is required in some areas .
The bonding strip is NOT the ground path. It only allows the armor to be used as a ground.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:19 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by electro View Post
A bonding jumper would be a better application and is required in some areas .
How do you figure it to be a better application?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:21 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The bonding strip is NOT the ground path. It only allows the armor to be used as a ground.
I really think he knew that, and was agreeing. I think he just dislikes self grounding receptacles.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 10:03 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I really think he knew that, and was agreeing. I think he just dislikes self grounding receptacles.
Actually, I do think you are right.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 10:29 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by electro View Post
Your right about the bonding strip . A bonding jumper would be a better application and is required in some areas .
? This doesn't make sense.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 11:22 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
? This doesn't make sense.
Which part? he is answering my post with no quote, it just reads like a run on sentence thats all.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:24 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Which part? he is answering my post with no quote, it just reads like a run on sentence thats all.
No, I understand it all. I was talking about when he said bond wires are better than self grounding.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:27 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

armored cable


should i use armored cable and metal boxes to get grounded outlets on my circuit that im extending ? i dont know what to pigtail to and i dont know what a bond jumper means
tomfag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:18 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

armored cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfag View Post
should i use armored cable and metal boxes to get grounded outlets on my circuit that im extending ? i dont know what to pigtail to and i dont know what a bond jumper means
NO PLASTIC BOXES WITH BX, its a violation aswell, unless you use the proper bushings. Bond jumper is a ground wire connecting to the box, I would use a grounding clip, faster.
The bonding strip is a little wire inside the jacket, I will show you what I mean with these pictures **In one of the pictures it labels it as a "bond wire", its actually the bonding strip.**
Attached Thumbnails
armored cable-100_4823.jpg   armored cable-100_4827.jpg   armored cable-100_4828.jpg   armored cable-100_4829.jpg   armored cable-100_4830.jpg  



Last edited by rgsgww; 10-31-2008 at 02:59 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1930s armored cable wiring Lisa_90 Electrical 9 08-01-2008 09:24 AM
Armored cable run outside in liquid flexible conduit m_driver Electrical 8 07-06-2008 02:15 PM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-18-2008 11:03 PM
Which type of Armored cable. helpless handyman Electrical 4 12-01-2007 09:04 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.