Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #1
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Share |
Default

Area Light Installation


I'd like to wire this area light to the back of my shed. There is a round weatherproof surface mount J-Box with NM-B cable coming out of it. It is where an existing basic floodlight was.

Without changing the wiring or drilling new holes in the shed. Is there any way to mount and wire this fixture?



Last edited by seansy59; 08-27-2012 at 07:21 PM.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

Area Light Installation


if the exsisting box has a cover on it just mount that lamp on the cover pull the lamp wire into the box and wire up

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
seansy59 (08-27-2012)
Old 08-27-2012, 11:53 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Area Light Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
if the exsisting box has a cover on it just mount that lamp on the cover pull the lamp wire into the box and wire up
If you mention to the OP to use the exsting box cover.,, My answer is don't do that due the weight and size of dusk to dawn luminaire can rip them off so use the WP cover with short flexiable conduit and hook it bottom of the luminare and use the proper mounting hardware ( lag bolts or other means ) so with strong storm it will not rip them off.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:19 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Area Light Installation


Quote:
Without changing the wiring or drilling new holes in the shed. Is there any way to mount and wire this fixture?
No there isn't.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exterior light and outlet installation barmaley Carpentry 7 12-25-2011 09:28 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Did I screw up? .....Under cabinet light installation. Don't want a fire hazard! jws3 Electrical 21 08-31-2009 02:14 AM
Grout question poolecw Flooring 11 10-29-2008 07:32 PM
Halo Canister Light Installation tvinson9 Electrical 5 12-30-2005 05:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.