Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2007, 03:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Arc Fault Trouble Shooting


Just wired new home can't get arc fault to work right. When circuit is active breaker trips. If I turn off lights breaker will stay on. But if switch on any over head light breaker trips. Can any one give me some tips on how to trouble shoot this problem.

michael byrnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 03:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Arc Fault Trouble Shooting


If it does this no matter which light switch you turn on.

The first thing that I would try is a new arc fault breaker.

They often come bad out of the box.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 03:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Arc Fault Trouble Shooting


I changed with anouther one from the same box, Should I try a 3ed?
michael byrnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 04:21 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Arc Fault Trouble Shooting


If the second one also tripped under the same circumstances, then you have a problem. My guess is that a bare grounding wire is touching a neutral screw in a receptacle. This wouldn't trip the AFCI until a load is applied to the circuit, ie: a light.
Check all your outlets, (POWER OFF! ) look for grounds touching the sides or back of the receptacles.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 04:24 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

Arc Fault Trouble Shooting


Also make sure you have the breaker wired correctly. The white wire for that circuit must connect to the silver screw of the breaker and the white pigtail from the breaker goes to the neutral bus.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-Floor Heating Cable Trouble... sootybuttercup Electrical 19 05-07-2010 08:39 AM
gas heater trouble toughy HVAC 2 11-04-2006 01:55 PM
Trouble - Goodman GMP100-3 Rev B cstelter HVAC 1 10-24-2006 12:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.