Arc Fault Light Briefly Lit When Turning Circuit Back On... - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 08:54 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
If this is a brand new home, as in just built, the contractor who built it, should be taking care of these issues.
Yes he does. Just looking for opinions.

Advertisement

darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:58 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsmozers View Post
Yes he does. Just looking for opinions.
My opinion is to get the contractor to up hold their end of the deal, if they gave you a policy that they would fix any problems for X amount of months/years. If they didn't, then that is were your peers come in handy here to help you out.

One opinion of myself and a few others is that AFCI breakers have their problems, and not every company that puts their name knows everything about them, even though they are supposed to be placed under stringent tests like EFI, RFI, EMI, etc.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 01-15-2012 at 09:00 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:58 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


It's acting normally.

It's tripping like it should and yes you should see the light.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
darthsmozers (01-15-2012), gregzoll (01-15-2012)
Old 01-15-2012, 09:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
My opinion is to get the contractor to up hold their end of the deal, if they gave you a policy that they would fix any problems for X amount of months/years. If they didn't, then that is were your peers come in handy here to help you out.

One opinion of myself and a few others is that AFCI breakers have their problems, and not every company that puts their name knows everything about them, even though they are supposed to be placed under stringent tests like EFI, RFI, EMI, etc.
He has been most helpful. Since its Sunday I thought I'd ask on here instead first andbgenalittle education so I knw what I'm talking about
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:19 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
It's acting normally.

It's tripping like it should and yes you should see the light.
Ok. Well, thanks.
Hmm I wonder, why if I shut off 3 switches (labeled bedroom 2, bedroom 3, and general lighting) did only the general lighting one show the light after switching back on. Could it be that the other 2 have nothing plugged into them as they are empty bedrooms, while general lighting has numerous hallway lights and a few ceiling fans connected?
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:05 PM   #21
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsmozers View Post
He has been most helpful. Since its Sunday I thought I'd ask on here instead first andbgenalittle education so I knw what I'm talking about

Is this slang, or "text" type or is your keyboard screwed up?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:10 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Test all of these AFCI breakers and see what happens when you reset them.

If you just turn them off it may not show the LED if there is no stored code. You can also clear the codes.

This might help: http://www.sea.siemens.com/us/intern...20Card_new.pdf
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:42 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Is this slang, or "text" type or is your keyboard screwed up?
Oops iPad keyboard. Should have said "and get a little education".
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darthsmozers For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-16-2012)
Old 01-16-2012, 07:40 AM   #24
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


darthsmozers, I turned off the autocorrect on my iPhone, due to it would screw up regularly. Now it is just me doing the screwing up when I type on it, and have to go back and edit when I catch it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:22 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
Test all of these AFCI breakers and see what happens when you reset them.

If you just turn them off it may not show the LED if there is no stored code. You can also clear the codes.

This might help: http://www.sea.siemens.com/us/intern...20Card_new.pdf
Ok, I hit test on another one. It too lights up with arc fault temporarily upon switching it back on. Cool. I guess what I have to figure out is if the original switch I played with showed the light because of a legitimate fault or because I was messing around with it. Question: since I turned it off in the first place to work on the fan, could that be the sole reason why it showed the arc light after turning it back on?
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:39 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsmozers View Post
Ok, I hit test on another one. It too lights up with arc fault temporarily upon switching it back on. Cool. I guess what I have to figure out is if the original switch I played with showed the light because of a legitimate fault or because I was messing around with it. Question: since I turned it off in the first place to work on the fan, could that be the sole reason why it showed the arc light after turning it back on?
Yes, that's probably why you saw the light.

Someone may have hit test at some point before you turned it off or it could have tripped at some point due to a fault.

You may never know - unless it trips again.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:04 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
Yes, that's probably why you saw the light.

Someone may have hit test at some point before you turned it off or it could have tripped at some point due to a fault.

You may never know - unless it trips again.
And I guess I'll know if it trips again because the lights connected to it will not work and I would have to reset the switch right?

Advertisement

darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way? mj876 Electrical 8 08-30-2010 06:55 PM
Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit? Mi Feller Electrical 26 07-22-2010 05:42 PM
Bathroom light on a gfi circuit Debbo Electrical 1 04-28-2010 10:32 PM
Arc Fault Break Tripping when any light switch turned on elab1 Electrical 60 11-20-2009 02:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts