Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2012, 12:15 PM   #1

Share |

Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on...

Total noob here, so I would appreciate any advice or insight . This morning I wanted to disconnect and remove a ceiling fan from a bedroom because I thought it had a problem preventing it from turning on. The light works but not the motor for t he fan. You can hear the motor hum but the blades were not turning. Anyway I wasn't sure which circuit to turn off. One is labeled bedroom 2, another is bedroom 3, and still another "general lighting". To be safe I turned off all 3. I then checked the wall switch that turns the fan on and confirmed the power was off. I unscrewed the fan from the mount, realized I didn't know know to disconnect the wiring (new homeowner!) and proceeded to screw it back in to deal with another day. I then went back downstairs and turned the three circuit back to on. When I flipped "general lighting" back to on, the tiny yellow light next to "arc fault" lit for about 3 - 5 seconds and then the light turned off and stayed off. My question is this: is this temporary lighting of the arc fault light normal when switching the circuit back on? As an aside, the fan now works fine ... As it did when we closed on the house. Weird. Thanks!

darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:23 PM   #2

Sounds like a loose connection in the wire nuts in the fan.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:27 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Sounds like a loose connection in the wire nuts in the fan.
Causing the fan to now work or causing the arc fault light to light briefly then turn off?
Old 01-15-2012, 02:08 PM   #4
Retired from the grind