Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2008, 02:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Arc Fault Breaker


continued:

OK - so I replaced a 20 A breaker w/ a 20 A AFCI just to be on the safe side. It has been working fine (and still tests fine at the panel). I've been using a 12 A miter box on the circuit along with a radio and a 60 W overhead light. Today, and there have been no wiring changes, the breaker flipped (even w/ no radio) twice as the miter box saw was winding up.

The saw is working fine in the same room on a different circuit (also AFCI), and I'll be through in a day or two and will never need to use the saw up there again.

Is it all right to use the circuit w/ lamps, maybe a computer, radio, other small junk and see if that flips the breaker, or should I be concerned that there is a serious problem?

I can't reason out why the breaker would work for a week and then flip unless it was a sensitivity issue with the breaker itself.

thanks,
potomac101

Potomac101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:53 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Arc Fault Breaker


You do not need a ACFI for the circuit you have it on. The load from the Miter saw is causing it to fail and trip. If wanting to use the Miter saw, place on a separate circuit with a regular breaker, but use a GFCI outlet.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 04:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Default

Arc Fault Breaker


Sorry - I didn't make that clear. The AFCI is in a new bedroom where I've been cutting trim.

So it's normal for something like a miter saw to trip an AFCI?
Potomac101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 05:11 PM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Arc Fault Breaker


When I was remodeling one of our bedrooms, 20AMP AFCI protected I had no problems at all using my miter saw, although I am not sure I how much it draws. I never had an issue running it or a table saw or other power tools with my 500watt work lights and the radio going.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 07:11 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Arc Fault Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Potomac101 View Post
Sorry - I didn't make that clear. The AFCI is in a new bedroom where I've been cutting trim.

So it's normal for something like a miter saw to trip an AFCI?
This is why, aside from the price, that I hate these damn shams. Junk. It may be that you have an overly sensitive breaker. But the arcing from the brushes in the saw may be causing the nuisance tripping.

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.