Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2011, 01:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: unincoorperated San Mateo County, CA
Posts: 72
Share |
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


I think the dishwasher, microwave oven, and the range hood all have that in their installation guide. Now, I understand that it probably means that it's okay to put the appliance on either a 15amp circuit or a 20 amp circuit. The question is: is it always better to put it on a 20amp circuit? Is there any reason to consider wiring it on a 15 amp circuit? Lower cost?

mudworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


If you're installing an appliance to a dedicated circuit (a circuit that will serve ONLY that appliance), and it will not draw more than 15 amps, i don't see a reason to install a 20a circuit.

14-awg wire is cheaper and easier to work with.

Applicances should be on dedicated circuits, though a dishwasher circuit can also have a garbage disposal on it.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:17 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mudworm View Post
I think the dishwasher, microwave oven, and the range hood all have that in their installation guide. Now, I understand that it probably means that it's okay to put the appliance on either a 15amp circuit or a 20 amp circuit. The question is: is it always better to put it on a 20amp circuit? Is there any reason to consider wiring it on a 15 amp circuit? Lower cost?
Follow installation instructions. As for more then one appliance on one circuit, it depends on the current draw. And no, they do not have to be GFI protected.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: unincoorperated San Mateo County, CA
Posts: 72
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


I'm the type who wants to follow instructions to the letter. That's why having options makes it hard for me. Yes, these appliances will be dedicated circuits, but I guess one reason that I should put in 20amp circuit that just popped up in my head is in case in the future I want to change my appliances that has a higher electric requirement.
mudworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:28 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mudworm View Post
I think the dishwasher, microwave oven, and the range hood all have that in their installation guide. Now, I understand that it probably means that it's okay to put the appliance on either a 15amp circuit or a 20 amp circuit. The question is: is it always better to put it on a 20amp circuit? Is there any reason to consider wiring it on a 15 amp circuit? Lower cost?
Most case the dishwasher et garbage dispoal unit can be on same circuit as long it don't draw more than 7.5 amps on 15 amp circuit or 10 amp on 20 amp circuit otherwise follow the manfacter insturction if they required delecated circuit then follow those requirement.

Microwave oven ., for the over the range top it have to be it own circuit no question asked ditto with range hood in future they will be changed to over the range micro/hood unit so that one reason why I leave it own circuit.

There is not many spot in kitchen area that I can use 15 amp circuit typically only on lighting circuit maybe delecated fridge circuit that about it.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: unincoorperated San Mateo County, CA
Posts: 72
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


We are on septic and do not and will not have a disposal. So, it's simple there. It seems our local requirement is strict. I remember an inspector at the county building department told me that my range hood needs to be on a dedicated circuit because it has a motor. Even the instructions for the hood also mentions a separate 15 amp circuit. However, when you look at the spec, it clearly states the Ampere for the hood is 3A. Why does it (a dedicated circuit for the hood) seem like a waste to me? Oh well, we'll wire it however they want us to.
mudworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 08:23 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,083
Default

appliance says 15-20amp. Is 20amp always better?


A cord connected range hood requires a dedicated circuit in case someone changes it out for a microwave hood. A hard wired range hood does not require a dedicated circuit. Commonly it is on a lighting circuit.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
explanation of 220 volt current to appliance Captflx Electrical 2 04-27-2011 05:50 AM
help installing two 20amp appliances on one outlet. wrzesinski Electrical 7 08-09-2010 12:58 PM
dead-end nipple before a gas appliance amakarevic Plumbing 14 11-02-2008 09:12 AM
Issues with appliance plug hgiljr Electrical 1 03-17-2007 07:09 AM
20amp circuit hammerhead Electrical 4 08-20-2005 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.