Any Specific Building Codes? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 02:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any specific building codes?


I have two questions if you don't mind...

Is there any particular codes that says you have to wires in the correct through hole in a junction box according to it's light switch? meaning...say i have a three gang junction box for light switches. I have a motion sensor light switch on the far right, however the source and wires to the light is all the way to the left through holes. Is it against code to have wires coming in through the left holes and wired to a switch on the far right gang slot?
Also can you have to 12/3 and 12/2 romex cables coming in through the same through holes say if you run out of holes?

Second question is...can you run alarm wire alongside AC romes 12/2 cables?

Advertisement

genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:41 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any specific building codes?


That's three questions.

No code as to order of cables in the box.
12/3 and a 12/2 might be too tight to fit into one hole, depending on what hole you are talking about... no code restriction here either
Alarm wires should not contact nor be run in parallel or in the same hole as electrical cables.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any specific building codes?


yes that is three questions isn't it... I can't count....hahaha

So the reason why I'm asking about the alarm wire is that the path that i need to take to run the alarm wire is running along side the joists of existing romex cables. they are not in a conduit tube or anything, just already nailed onto the joist beams. The alarm wire would just be held onto the same same side of the beam with black nail clips. any suggestions on that?
genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:34 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any specific building codes?


try getting those alarm wires on the another bay. These will work, might be some interference but if this is an issue it would depend on your alarm system. It will not hurt the electrical system or cause any other concerns beyond what I mentioned.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any specific building codes?


so there is a possiblity of feedback to the main alarm cpu that can harm it?
genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:05 PM   #6
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any specific building codes?


yes..if you are talking about the alarm.. not harm but interfere.. maybe false alarms? you need to check with your alarm guy on this.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any specific building codes?


ahhh unfortunately no alarm guy. gonna go buy an alarm system cpu from the net and then install it myself....somehow...

btw any good brand of alarm system you guys prefer? I'm looking for something with more features like Internet capabilities. and voice dialing
genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:18 PM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any specific building codes?


Try looking at www.smarthome.com and they will offer ways to connect to your computer as well as automating most home electrical and electronics.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 04:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Any specific building codes?


I thought most alarms were wireless now
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 07:43 AM   #10
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any specific building codes?


DIY and aftermarket may be wireless, but good ones will be wired. Wireless can be remotely blocked fairly easily.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:30 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

Any specific building codes?


If all the knockouts are filled with cables you may have an issue with box fill. How many cables and what types are you trying to fit in this box? How many devices and how many cubic inches in the box?

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
South FL Building Codes Matty16 Building & Construction 8 08-03-2008 07:25 AM
Where to find building codes? nimblemotors General DIY Discussions 5 06-27-2008 08:15 AM
Building a breakfast bar - any specific type of MDF? Proulx06 Carpentry 9 02-15-2008 08:53 AM
Building codes? Keener General DIY Discussions 2 11-10-2007 08:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts