Any Reason Why To NOT Use A GFCI Somewhere? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 09:30 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


GFCIs can be great safety devices and I am thinking that from now on when I add a new circuit of receptacles, I will GFCI protect it. Is there any reason why I should NOT do that? I also want to look into AFCI at some point. I do know it's code for bedrooms but I'm even wondering if I should add some when I wire up my server room, or if they would be too likely to trip with such equipment. But GFCI, I can't see them causing issues.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 09:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


I use GFCI in bathrooms, kitchen, garage, basement, outdoors
But not for every day outlets

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 09:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


Although they have become a lot more reliable I wouldn't use them for a refrigerator, freezer, or where you will be plugging in capacitive loads.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


The primary drawback with GFCIs is cost. But starting a chain of recs with a GFCI isn't a bad idea. My neighbor's 'dream house' has GFCIs at every rec in their kitchen (something like 10) and all I could think about was how much their electrician managed to mark that up!

I have started adding AFCIs when I re-wire in anticipation of future requirements (living spaces in addition to bedrooms).

GFCIs should go everywhere they are required no matter what you plug into them. Dead meat isn't worth as much as live meat.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:31 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


Sump pumps are an area of controversy.

Since the area is generally wet or at least damp, the protection offered by a GFI would seem beneficial. But if the GFI trips, the area will most likely flood, possibly creating a greater hazard.

If possible, I don't use GFIs on sump pumps, or food preservation equipment.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


They may not like motor loads; it seems to me there was a thread about a washing machine that tripped its GFCI, and it finally turned out the machine manuf. had an exemption from having his machine on a GFCI.

You can measure the steady-state current in the ground wires at your CB panel; more than 3 mA will trip a GFCI, and transients that come along that last more than a few mS can also trip them.
The interconductor capacitance of 600' [10 ea. 60' lengths connected to the same breaker] of grounded Romex with nothing plugged in will give you 3 mA of reactive current.

In many cases you trade off nuisance tripping vs. some small increment of additional safety.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 01-14-2010 at 11:47 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 07:40 AM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


I have heard, but have had no experience with it, that computer power supplies tend to trip GFCIs.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:16 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere?


Hmm I would have to test then, and yeah never even thought about stuff like sump pumps and fridges. Probably best to use a regular outlet for those.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 06:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 11:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts