Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 02:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Hi guys -
I'm planning the lighting in my new addition. It is a 800sf addition, attached to the main house. Power is coming from a 60A subpanel. I was wondering if anyone could OK or advise of changes to this wiring diagram I have shown. I'm not aware of any conventions for wiring diagrams, and I kind of made this up. Thanks in advance for any help!


The image link above opens up a larger image of the same diagram.

fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:57 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fulmar2 View Post
I was wondering if anyone could...
Nope. Not gonna even try.
There's no need for you to learn proper IEEE standards either.

Keep it simple:
Start with a schedule of all receptacles, light fixtures and appliances that you intend to include. Show all those which have a dedicated circuit (eg 240V 30A Dryer) first. Then the 15A or 20A receptacle circuits. Then the 15A lighting circuits.

Mark each home run from the panel to first device...
then (with a soft loop) how that line gets extended.
There won't be that many.
Attached Thumbnails
Any problems with this wiring diagram?-rwp_plan.jpg  

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,148
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fulmar2 View Post
Hi guys -
I'm planning the lighting in my new addition. It is a 800sf addition, attached to the main house. Power is coming from a 60A subpanel. I was wondering if anyone could OK or advise of changes to this wiring diagram I have shown. I'm not aware of any conventions for wiring diagrams, and I kind of made this up. Thanks in advance for any help!


The image link above opens up a larger image of the same diagram.
What in the Sam world is this? Is it some type of Lumosity game?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,350
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


I looked and looked and still can not see Pac Man in the picture. What's the trick?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 09:26 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


What is the combined wattage of all your fixtures?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
fulmar2 (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 09:50 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
What is the combined wattage of all your fixtures?
Yeah he has a lot on one circuit so I'm assuming 20 amps. He has twenty fixtures, looks like 16 light fixtures, 4 fans, 2 smoke detectors. Nicely done diagram by the way.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
fulmar2 (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 11:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


TarheelTerp - I actually already had a wiring diagram like yours from the Architect (see link below):



I made my own diagram so I could be sure I was understanding things correctly. I only did the lighting circuit because the outlets seem relatively easy to figure out. One challenge was determining when to pull 3 conductor wire, and when to pull 2 conductor wire; I hope I got that right. I tried to make up my boxes as simply as possible, and I got the 22cubic inch boxes so I think I'm safe on box fill.

kbsparky - the combined wattage of all the fixtures is 624W. I plan to use LED lighting and already have the exact ratings on the bathroom and laundry fans. Here is my load table.

Stubbie - Actually, I was planning on running 14ga wire and making this a 15A circuit. I calculated that with my lighting, I'm well under the amperage even with the 80% derating. Thank you for your comment, as it really made me feel a lot better after the Lumosity / Pac Man comments.

All - I've been really close to hiring an electrician to pull the wires. The expense is not to great. I haven't hired one because I want to have the satisfaction of doing it myself. It's not about the $$. Thank you to those who have endeavored to be helpful, and maintained the spirit of DIYchatroom.

Last edited by fulmar2; 02-13-2013 at 11:21 PM. Reason: Forgot URL
fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:18 PM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fulmar2 View Post
I made my own diagram so I could be sure I was understanding things correctly. I only did the lighting circuit because the outlets seem relatively easy to figure out.

One challenge was determining when to pull 3 conductor wire,
and when to pull 2 conductor wire.
Typically... you'll use 2wire from the panel to the first switch point...
and then "Daisy-chaining" from that switch to the next (and so forth).

You'll also use 2wire from these switches to the several light fixtures they control.

The 3 way switches are where you'll use 3wire and are done similarly...
2wire feed in --> 3way Sw <--3wire between--> 3way Sw --> 2wire to light

Quote:
I've been really close to hiring an electrician to pull the wires. The expense is not to great. I haven't hired one because I want to have the satisfaction of doing it myself. It's not about the $$.
Good for you.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 02-13-2013 at 11:23 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:23 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


My comments will be in bleu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulmar2 View Post
TarheelTerp - I actually already had a wiring diagram like yours from the Architect (see link below):



I made my own diagram so I could be sure I was understanding things correctly. I only did the lighting circuit because the outlets seem relatively easy to figure out. One challenge was determining when to pull 3 conductor wire, and when to pull 2 conductor wire; I hope I got that right. I tried to make up my boxes as simply as possible, and I got the 22cubic inch boxes so I think I'm safe on box fill.

Not bad drawing you make there.

The other thing with three way switches you may want to reroute the three conductor cable from switch box to switch box the key reason why is with the 2011 NEC code do mention that you will need netural conductor at each switch location for a good reason why due some of the motion sensor or the timer will required neutral to get it function properly.


kbsparky - the combined wattage of all the fixtures is 624W. I plan to use LED lighting and already have the exact ratings on the bathroom and laundry fans.

I don't go by the combine wattage as you mention above I always sized the circuit by the max wattage of each luminarie ( it will be stamped on the luminaire itself ) it don't matter if recessed or surface luminaries even thru you will use the LED but some case in future someone may want to switch over to indentscent bulbs that can overload the circuit very easy.

So that one reason why I always double check the wattage of the lumiaire.

Bathroom / laundry room fan with lights most case the max wattage useally either 60 or 100 watts depending on what model it is.


Stubbie - Actually, I was planning on running 14ga wire and making this a 15A circuit. I calculated that with my lighting, I'm well under the amperage even with the 80% derating. Thank you for your comment, as it really made me feel a lot better after the Lumosity / Pac Man comments.

All - I've been really close to hiring an electrician to pull the wires. The expense is not to great. I haven't hired one because I want to have the satisfaction of doing it myself. It's not about the $$. Thank you to those who have endeavored to be helpful, and maintained the spirit of DIYchatroom.
If your state/ local area can allow the homeowner do it own wiring that fine but check with the permit office first to make sure.

But if you want to hire the electrician to do the wiring you can do that but the cost will varies a bit depending on what they will plan how they run the circuit(s)

Bon Chance with your project.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
fulmar2 (02-13-2013)
Old 02-13-2013, 11:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


are you pulling permits, if so i highly doubt the inspector will let you use 14/2 i say this from my own personal experience, inspectors in my area wont let you use 14/2 not even for a single light just saying ,,,,good luck in your project.
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RAUL HIDALGO For This Useful Post:
ir8av8r (10-19-2013)
Old 02-14-2013, 12:00 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Raul, yes this will be inspected; I have permits. We're allowed to do "owner builder." Also, there is some construction going in the park in my neighborhood. I check it out, and see 14ga wire all over the place. I think it's OK.

Also, thanks to French Electrician. That is a good point about the calculations; it pushes me over the limit if I consider the maximum capacity of the luminaries. I made a revised drawing that divides it into two circuits (splitting the load down the middle). Also, I took your suggestion about the routing of the hall 3-way switch. Now the only problem I'm aware of: I don't know how to do a 3-way switch in the middle of a circuit.
fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:03 AM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


I find nothing wrong with your layout it is very well thought out. As Mark said you may want to be sure it is calculated correctly as you may need 2 branch circuits as shown in your second diagram..

FWIW ... the other guys weren't smart enough to figure out what to do to see the diagram .......
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-14-2013 at 12:10 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:58 AM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAUL HIDALGO View Post
are you pulling permits, if so i highly doubt the inspector will let you use 14/2 i say this from my own personal experience, inspectors in my area wont let you use 14/2 not even for a single light just saying ,,,,good luck in your project.
For what possible reason could an inspector turn down the use of 14/2? As long as the circuit is protected by a 15 amp breaker and the load does not exceed the calculated wattage. Certainly nothing in the NEC.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:37 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


I remember this game from my younger days.
Attached Thumbnails
Any problems with this wiring diagram?-wiringdiagram.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (02-14-2013)
Old 02-14-2013, 11:18 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Any problems with this wiring diagram?


I'm just going to throw in my $.02 which should be based on the fact I am NOT an electrician, just a home owner who has worked as an electrician for a summer in college, and ran low voltage (Cat5/RG6/Security) wiring for a number of years in my previous job.

I may be reading this wrong, but it appears that you are mixing Outdoor lights (which require a GFI circuit breaker), smoke alarms which have to be on their own breaker, and the rest of the lights should all be on an AFCI breaker, so that's 3 circuits right there. If I'm wrong that this appears to be 1 big circuit, I apologize. You didn't state if you were short on breakers etc...

If it were my house, I would be using 12 gauge because you can put more on them and it's a nominal cost, albeit a bit more work to get everything tied in at the recepticales/switches.

I also believe in the "design for stupid" rule, meaning you won't live in this house for the next 50 years when the wiring needs to be redone, and you should try and make your design as basic/simple/fool proof for the long run. This entails over designing some aspects, and not tailoring it too specifically for your exact needs at the moment. You WILL modify this wiring, and the more home runs and isolated you can make it the better for long term changes. LEDs may be superceded, Electricity may bypass gas/oil for heating or cooling, any number of unknown technological improvements may change things.


Like FrenchElectrician mentioned, you should rate the lights not based on the current bulb, but the luminaire's designation. Assuming best case, your luminaire doesn't allow changing of the bulb, and it's rated for exactly your LED bulb's rating, that would make your plan ok. But realistically, you should assume that someday someone will change your fixtures out for different ones, and design for that purpose. I would assume 75w per can light, and/or fixture. If you want to go lower, 50watts, but I think it's extreme to base it on a 3-15watt LED assumption.

In my house, I'm using 12 gauge everywhere except for the smoke/carbon alarms, and I'm using 75w IC rated cans, so I can get roughly 25 fixtures on a 20 amp or 19 on a 15 amp. Because I'm using AFCI breakers and they're about $50 regardless of whether it's 15 or 20 amp, I just got 20 amp because I'm using 12 gauge wire.

I'm also over designing because I am a home owner, and reading all these horror stories about loose connections causing heat which burns down the house, I want a bit of comfort room, and 12 gauge I believe will help in that matter. If I'm under wattage based on a 50 year life span, I'm fairly certain that the next person isn't going to have any problems either. My point is say someone changes out all your LEDs for regular can lights, and then they're bumping up against your 15amp 1 breaker solution, then the wire is heating up and even though you may not have had a problem, now the circuits are stressed, and you could have a loose connection that heats up and starts a fire. I know this is a bit paranoid, but that's just my reasoning behind over designing the wiring and being double triple careful on any splice points etc...


Last edited by Ocelaris; 02-14-2013 at 11:24 AM.
Ocelaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XL13i specs and wiring diagram jaraasch HVAC 5 06-03-2014 01:56 PM
Is it normal to have the furnace control panel wiring, not match the wiring diagram cjbeck71081 HVAC 6 07-18-2012 11:19 AM
Looking for a HVAC control wiring diagram garya505 HVAC 3 10-09-2009 10:01 PM
wiring diagram question screenporch21 Electrical 10 11-30-2008 08:14 PM
3way wiring problem (diagram inside) jelly Electrical 5 08-17-2008 08:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.