Any Issue With Long Run Between Relay And Lights? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 08:01 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Any issue with long run between relay and lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
That won't shorten the runs. You still have to run the power to the relay first, no matter where it is. Different relay points will just be stopping points for the circuit. And you need to run the hot, neutral and ground wires together anyway.
Sure it would. Let's say you have three relays. Run one power to the group, and three control lines. From the relays, then you can have short runs to the target circuits.

(h/t ddawg16)

Of course, if you need separate breakers for those targets, then this plan wouldn't work.

Advertisement

gstein67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #17
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any issue with long run between relay and lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gstein67 View Post
Sure it would. Let's say you have three relays. Run one power to the group, and three control lines. From the relays, then you can have short runs to the target circuits.

(h/t ddawg16)

Of course, if you need separate breakers for those targets, then this plan wouldn't work.

I understand that you will eliminate the switch legs...but that's all. Draw it out. If you eliminate the relays from that circuit, you have the same wiring....again, minus the switch legs.....right? It basically eliminates all the switch legs. It adds up, of course, but I doubt it will be a significant amount.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:41 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Any issue with long run between relay and lights?


Another thing to figure out is to home run all low volt switch legs. Then, later on, you could automate the house via computer . I would go with 18/3 bell wire

Advertisement

sparkyjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant get flasher relay to function on my motorcycle nickmg555 Electrical 7 02-18-2012 09:04 AM
power surge with 120v relay astetson Electrical 8 01-16-2012 11:46 PM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 12:45 PM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 09:35 PM
newbie...relay problems jfabes Electrical 11 05-06-2008 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts