Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 09:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Westchester, N.Y.
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Hi I have an electrical question I can't figure out. I have a PSU (Power Supply Unit) in my computer. The unit converts AC power to DC power which powers everything. There are cables called molex cables which have 4 pins, one 12v, one 5v, and two ground.
I need to turn one of my hard drives on and off (EDIT: I don't mean off while it is being powered/in use. it's more complicated than that. read my replies) and I'm going to buy a switch for that purpose. I found a switch but it is not wired as I would've expected. The actual switch part is on the ground, not the +12/5, and the grounds are combined. I contacted the company and they say they wire the switches that way because it's easier than having to wire a DPST switch. Here's a picture of what it would look like if I used their switch on my device (hard drive):


So my question is do you think that's safe? If it is why do power supply units give two ground wires if they're both the same ground circuit? Maybe I don't understand ground. What I was expecting is a DPST that breaks both the +12 and +5, leaving the grounds untouched and not combined. Does the way the switch is wired mean my device would always be receiving power but it would be ungrounded unless the switch was closed?
Furthermore, if DC power always flows from negative to positive, does that mean the ground electrons are flowing back into the 12 and the 5? It just doesn't look right to combine the grounds like that.

I realize this may be a lot to take in and I have no idea what I'm talking about. Sorry about that.


Last edited by Deck; 01-07-2012 at 12:51 AM.
Deck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 01:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


I would think it can be an issue because you will have to different voltages flowing on the same neutral but then again all I do is residential. However an electronic engineer would really be able to tell you.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,592
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


It was done that way simly for economy,
One switch instead of two switch .
Is it safe ?
this is too general a question !
Under most circumstances yes !
But under some other circumstances,
its not the best way to do it !

So what specifically are your concerns ?

In a circuit it doesnt matter much where you break it !
Once it is broken it stops !

Where switchs are put is dictated by other concerns,
like maximum safety under all circumstances.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:47 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 640
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


What you are showing will work just fine...no worries. There are different reasons for running multiple ground wires but it this case it is for current handling and manufacturing reasons.

Last edited by zappa; 01-05-2012 at 04:54 AM. Reason: spellling
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Computers and automobiles are not subject to the same rules as household electrical wiring. In the case of automotive wiring it is quite common to switch the ground (or neutral) and there are even situations where the same wire acts a hot for one circuit and, at different times, a ground for a different circuit using a double throw switch.

For the switched ground cable you have diagrammed I trust that there are no devices (loads) that commingle the 5 volt and 12 volt power, for example to obtain 7 volts. In such a case turning off the switch would not kill the portion of the circuit that used both the +5 and +12 lines.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-05-2012 at 07:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Those are not really ground wires. They are negative wires. The ground is connected to the case and the ground pin of the 120v plug.
In a DC circuit it doesn't make any difference switching the negative. It doesn't create a safety hazard of shock to ground like your 120 volt ac house wiring does. The only logical reason for two negative wires is for increased current capacity. If you open the PSU you will find all the negatives connected to the same place.

The reason the manufacture does it that way is to cost. It is much cheaper to use a single pole switch on the negative than a double pole switch on the +12 and +5.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:03 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 640
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


I got to thinking about this on the way to work and I wanted to add another reason for separate gr.... negative (thanks joed) wires. While they connect to the same point electrically, there may be some filtering. One of your hot wires is dedicated to the spindle motor and the other powers the electronics. The thought is to keep motor noise from entering the electronics through the negative wire. Maybe some computer folks could confirm this and give more advice for your circuit but I'm still not seeing any major concerns.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:08 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,481
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


I wouldn't switch the common if the 5 and 12 vdc lines are still hooked up.....

If it was only one voltage...then, yea, you can break the common.

But with the 5 & 12 v lines hooked up, you still have 7 volts of potential between the those 2 power inputs....depending on your drive, this may or may not hurt it....I personally wouldn't take a chance.

BTW...DPST switches are a dime a dozen....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 12:51 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Computer power supplies generally don't support the use of the 5V and 12V lines together as a 7V source, because that results in the 5V line sinking current instead of sourcing it, which the rectifier and regulator components often don't allow. Some PSU's will work this way, but many won't, so computer hardware doesn't attempt to do it. Also, there just isn't really a need for a floating 7V source for anything. Thus, switching the negative connections is just as good as switching the positives. The only catch could be if both the drive and the PSU have the negative busses bonded to the chassis. If they do, then the switch will do nothing because the current will return through the metal cases. Most computer hardware maintains DC isolation (but not AC) between the negative bus and the chassis, so this is unlikely to be a problem. And yes, both negative lines connect to exactly the same place in both the PSU and the drive. There is no distinction between them; they are in parallel only for increased current handling.

The only problem you could encounter might be that the switch doesn't turn the drive off if the chassis is a functional current return path. There's no way I can think of that switching the negative lines could damage your hardware.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:02 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,277
Rewards Points: 2,216
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Personally I would not do it. One reason is that the operating system at one point is going to forget that drive exists, due to it will corrupt the MBR either on that drive, or the file table on the master, the other is that there really is no need to do that.

If you are only wanting to use that drive, set it to spin down in power settings, or if not wanting someone to access for who knows what, encrypt and use a password. Now of course, you could use hot-swap trays if you have a 5 1/4" face, which is the old way of doing things, or get a USB drive enclosure, or install a e-sata port to hook the drive up to, using a e-sata enclosure.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:16 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Westchester, N.Y.
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


I really appreciate all that you guys do here. This forum has been a great source of information for me. I didn't expect so many replies. It really means a lot!
Deck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:19 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Westchester, N.Y.
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Personally I would not do it. One reason is that the operating system at one point is going to forget that drive exists, due to it will corrupt the MBR either on that drive, or the file table on the master, the other is that there really is no need to do that.
The BIOS locks the drive so I need to power it up after boot. I do understand what you're saying, but once I turn the drive on I don't plan to turn it off. I use AHCI and it will detect the drive after boot. You make a very good point though.
Deck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:32 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,277
Rewards Points: 2,216
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


It is your risk, I personally would not do it, since there are other ways to do this. And I personally do not see a reason to put in a switch inside, unless you are thinking of other methods. Best way if you are really wanting to save money, etc, use a SSD.

All you are doing is trying to reinvent the wheel. Here is a option for SATA drives http://www.cooldrives.com/4posaiisw3ba.html
Hot swap tray http://www.startech.com/HDD/Mobile-R...er~DRW110SATBK
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 01-05-2012 at 04:35 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:58 PM   #14
Canadian home owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SK, Canada
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


It's not a good idea to switch power on & off to a drive while the computer is running so I'd advise against it, you may harm the drive. So why are you wanting to do this?
pw5599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:38 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s).


I agree with the others that this is NOT the best way to do this. You are likely to damage the drive by hitting the switch at the wrong time. While many DC circuits including most automotive equipment and most communications equipment turn off and on by interupting/connecting the negative side of the power supply, if you do this to your hard drive at the wrong time, damage is very likely to occur.

davido30093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dpst, molex, power, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Ground Wires Connected Outside of Switch Box Cannun Electrical 3 12-16-2011 07:32 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.