Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Antique Chandelier -do I have to rewire it?


Hello there,
I bought and old brass chandelier.
It has cloth wiring inside the arms.
Is it really neccessary to replace the wires?
My husband tried to pull the old wires out and they won't budge!

Thanks so much for any advice!


Last edited by 725peanuts; 02-26-2012 at 10:34 AM.
725peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:19 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Antique Chandelier -do I have to rewire it?


Depends on how good or bad the wires actually are. What is the condition of the insulation? Worn out? Broken? Evidently your husband thinks they need to be replaced. Why would he be wrong? The wires do come out and if he is pulling them and they wont budge he is not doing it right. You must remove all the sockets before anything will move. Rewiring it will be easy and a good idea depending on the condition of the wires.
There is nothing wrong with cloth insulated wires if they are in good condition.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2
Default

Antique Chandelier -do I have to rewire it?


Thanks for your reply! My husband says the wires are cloth coated over a plastic coating. The cloth appears to be worn a little but the plastic is intact.

I hope it didn't sound like I thought he was wrong about replacing the wiring - we were both wondering what was best.

Our concern and main question was if we left the old cloth wiring in would it be a fire /electrical hazard?

We really apprieciate any advice!

Last edited by 725peanuts; 02-26-2012 at 10:47 AM.
725peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,272
Default

Antique Chandelier -do I have to rewire it?


If the insulation is not brittle and cracking you should be fine---check near a socket---that is a 'warm' area--and the most likely to dry out and become brittle---if that's good--the rest will be fine---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two dimmers, 1 for spots 1 for chandelier help Nessa Electrical 9 01-31-2012 11:34 PM
Chandelier Wiring Questions Twister Electrical 8 06-18-2011 08:50 AM
Replacing Chandelier Green Grounding Wire? wyjadka Electrical 4 03-24-2011 06:22 PM
chandelier Connection clampion Electrical 3 03-20-2011 09:48 AM
heavier chandelier??? frgwtchr Electrical 13 07-25-2009 11:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.