Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2010, 01:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Share |
Default

antenna grounding


As I live in a very low lightning part of the country I've never thought much about grounding my 1950's era tv antenna.

Now, I've spent some real money on a big old flat screen tv and I think I ought to get on it. So, can I clamp onto the ground wire that runs from my service panel to the two ground rods? What type of wire should I use?

Also, can anyone fill me in on a decent surge protector that won't break the bank? Thanks

__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

antenna grounding


It is common to ground a TV antenna using a ground rod. Size 6 copper wire is recommended.

I don't see why existing ground rods could not be used considering that when additional ground rods are driven, they are usually all bonded to one another although this last step is often omitted if there is a distance between them.

It is also suggested from time to time to bond all the components of an audio or home theater system by daisy chaining the items to one another using a #12 or even #14 copper wire and grounding it all with the far end of the wire connected to a known ground. Either the outer shell of an input jack or a screw that reaches through to the metal chassis can be used as an attachment point for the bonding wire.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-24-2010 at 07:30 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:42 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

antenna grounding


Run a #10 down from the mast to the GEC like you talked about, use a split bolt connector. If you were to drive another ground rod and not bond it to your electrical system, you can introduce ground loop problems.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

antenna grounding


I'd put the flatscreen on a UPS too
Had an antenna at the parents house as a kid
He never had me ground it...I was responsible for installation
And he knew about electrical etc

My current antenna is in the attic -I use it for radio reception
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 02:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

antenna grounding


Ups ???
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 04:24 AM   #6
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

antenna grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by handifoot View Post
Ups ???
as in UPS
.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What about lightening rod when they do my roof? Leah Frances Electrical 7 06-04-2009 04:34 PM
OTA antenna ground DIYGST Electrical 8 03-09-2009 01:39 PM
Grounding my new over-the-air HDTV antenna pcampbell Electrical 2 01-15-2009 11:42 AM
Grounding Antenna Piedmont Electrical 12 11-29-2007 03:34 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.