Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 08:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Another Sub panel question


So I've read enough forum topics to make my brain melt but still I'm a little unsure as to what wire I need so here's what I have:

200A main panel will be feeding my barn that is 175ft away, in the barn I plan on installing lights and 2 outlets. So I planned on installing a sub panel with 2 20A breakers one for the lights and one for the 2 outlets. Will #8 THWN work? Thanks in advance

combs&co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Another Sub panel question


Use this calculator to determine the size wire you need for your run. You must pick your current requirement (panel). http://www.southwire.com/support/vol...calculator.htm

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:48 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Another Sub panel question


Thanks J. V. I was looking for a calculator that made it easy for the DIY'er
combs&co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Another Sub panel question


Quote:
Originally Posted by combs&co View Post
Thanks J. V. I was looking for a calculator that made it easy for the DIY'er
Combs,

It cant be made simpler because you have to make the following decisions:

1. Do you actually need a sub-panel or would a single 20A circuit or a 20A MWBC do the job
2. If you do a subpanel, what size. If in doubt, upsize to allow for future growth. Remember a sub-panel has to have its own grounding system in addition to the ground provided from the line to the main panel.
3. Voltage drop. at 175 feet voltage drop enters into play. Probably upsize at least 2. So for example, for the 20 amp MWBC, you would use at least 10 AWG, not 12.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel question Dogger Electrical 1 09-28-2011 04:48 PM
Question about sub panel lilryry Electrical 12 07-29-2011 11:32 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Panel History (old Breaker Panel Question) jamiedolan Electrical 3 01-17-2009 03:27 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.