Another Gfci Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2013, 09:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

another gfci question


happy 4 th. lets remember what it is for.

helping a friend in an older house, circa early 50's. An electrician installed a new service, 200A homeline panel. I am going through it with the owner replacing outlets and switches as many are worn out. Have found many incorrect splices, no grounds on outlets, etc. fixing as we go.

problem. the kitchen has two near the sink outlets, ground faulted in the panel.
one works perfectly. the other does not. The ground on that circuit is open somewhere in the house. plan is to run a separate ground as we can not find the break. there is a light fixture abouve the sink powered off of this outlet through a switch. when it is turned on, the gfci in the panel trips. friend replaced light fixture, still same problem.

When I test the gfci with a plug in tester it will not trip. if I bootleg a temp ground from another circuit I can shut down the gfci with the tester.

help.

bernie

Advertisement

bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,774
Rewards Points: 664
Default

another gfci question


100% sure you hooked up the line to the line and the load to the load side?
A GFI will work even with no ground attached.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:27 AM   #3
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
happy 4 th. lets remember what it is for.

helping a friend in an older house, circa early 50's. An electrician installed a new service, 200A homeline panel. I am going through it with the owner replacing outlets and switches as many are worn out. Have found many incorrect splices, no grounds on outlets, etc. fixing as we go.

problem. the kitchen has two near the sink outlets, ground faulted in the panel. Bernie, are these the same circuit ... same GFI breaker.?
one works perfectly. the other does not.(I assume you mean it does not trip with the plug in tester as referenced in your next sentence) The ground on that circuit is open somewhere in the house. plan is to run a separate ground as we can not find the break.(Good idea to ground it, but your GFI should still be effective w/o the ground... it is just your plug-in tester that will not trip it without a ground) there is a light fixture abouve the sink powered off of this outlet through a switch. when it is turned on, the gfci in the panel trips. friend replaced light fixture, still same problem.(This appears to me to be a completely unrelated issue to above. It sounds like you have a current leak on your light loop... to chase down.)

When I test the gfci with a plug in tester it will not trip. if I bootleg a temp ground from another circuit I can shut down the gfci with the tester.(As referenced above, your plug-in tester just shorts your receptical to ground to test it. W/O a ground it does not functiion to trip. You tripping it to another ground is all normal and functioning as expected. Your GFI does not need a ground to function)

help.

bernie

Bernie... I am not a sparky, just a GC, but AFAIK... I believe I've given you corerct info with regard to the GFI breaker. I believe it functions just as a GFI receptical.

However, I do not have experience with GFI breakers.... I do not use them and do not believe in them....I use GFI receps.

I would ask a pro sparky, how do you tell whether a GFI breaker tripped because of a GFI leak or because of an overload??? That would be in reference to your light issue.

Best and Good luck
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:05 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
happy 4 th. lets remember what it is for.

helping a friend in an older house, circa early 50's. An electrician installed a new service, 200A homeline panel. I am going through it with the owner replacing outlets and switches as many are worn out. Have found many incorrect splices, no grounds on outlets, etc. fixing as we go.

problem. the kitchen has two near the sink outlets, ground faulted in the panel.
one works perfectly. the other does not. The ground on that circuit is open somewhere in the house. plan is to run a separate ground as we can not find the break. there is a light fixture abouve the sink powered off of this outlet through a switch. when it is turned on, the gfci in the panel trips. friend replaced light fixture, still same problem.

When I test the gfci with a plug in tester it will not trip. if I bootleg a temp ground from another circuit I can shut down the gfci with the tester.

help.

bernie



The 2 by the kit. Are they on the same circuit ?

Do u have gfi breaker then gfi receptacles ?
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:30 AM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
happy 4 th. lets remember what it is for.


problem. the kitchen has two near the sink outlets, ground faulted in the panel.



bernie
I took that to mean a GFI BREAKER...... maybe not
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:40 AM   #6
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 194
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
happy 4 th. lets remember what it is for.

helping a friend in an older house, circa early 50's. An electrician installed a new service, 200A homeline panel. I am going through it with the owner replacing outlets and switches as many are worn out. Have found many incorrect splices, no grounds on outlets, etc. fixing as we go.

problem. the kitchen has two near the sink outlets, ground faulted in the panel.
one works perfectly. the other does not. The ground on that circuit is open somewhere in the house. plan is to run a separate ground as we can not find the break. there is a light fixture abouve the sink powered off of this outlet through a switch. when it is turned on, the gfci in the panel trips. friend replaced light fixture, still same problem.

When I test the gfci with a plug in tester it will not trip. if I bootleg a temp ground from another circuit I can shut down the gfci with the tester.

help.

bernie
What are you doing to fix the lack of grounds?
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:13 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

another gfci question


A GFCI receptacle or breaker will work without a ground. But the 3 light plug in testers will not trip the GFCI with the test button.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

another gfci question


thanks everybody.

to clairify, two panel mounted breakers, no outlet type gfci's.

one kitchen circuit w. gfci is fine. the other is the problem.

the problem one has no ground continuity back to the SEP. I understand that this is not needed for protection and why it will not trip w. tester.

I do believe the problem is in the light circuit loop. I did not mention that I did a continuity check on black white and ground from lamp to switch. No cross continuity between wires and all wires show good conduction. My feeling is a nail or screw might be the problem and moving the wires around 12-2 wg romex may open and close the problem.

I will be going back monday and "put eyes on the problem" again.

Nothing in this house will suprise me. So far I have added 4 Junction boxes to correct no wire nutted (only twisted) connections. and have found many non grounded outlets where there was an unconnected ground wire in the box.

again, thanks and happy 4th

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:31 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

another gfci question


My guess would be somewhere on the light circuit you have a ground to neutral connection. This would trip a GFCI. Since they are on the same circuit it could be related to your not ground issue at the receptacle.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (07-04-2013)
Old 07-03-2013, 02:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

another gfci question


Joed,

Negative. SEP to outlet--No ground

outlet to spst switch black hot wire

spst to lamp black wire (switched)

lamp to outlet white (neutral) wire.

my next try will be to hang a pigtail lamp and see what happens

thanks,

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 03:16 PM   #11
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
Joed,

Negative. SEP to outlet--No ground

outlet to spst switch black hot wire

spst to lamp black wire (switched)

lamp to outlet white (neutral) wire.

my next try will be to hang a pigtail lamp and see what happens

thanks,

bernie
Bernie... Strange wiring....feed into switch... lamp neutral fed from outlet

Sure it's the hots neutral,,, and someone did not tie in another branch neutral??? (sounds likely given the other hack stuff you've run into... hacks often think... white is white and will grab one from any circut)

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:33 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

another gfci question


Hmmm. That may be it

Monday may show it

Bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

another gfci question


Does the receptacle work or does it trip the gfci?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #14
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

another gfci question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post
there is a light fixture abouve the sink powered off of this outlet through a switch. when it is turned on, the gfci in the panel trips. friend replaced light fixture, still same problem.

bernie
light trips GFI, recep trips when jumped to another ground so I assume yes.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 07-03-2013 at 06:29 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:20 PM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

another gfci question


Not what I wanted know. I don't care if the GFCI test trips. What happens when a proper load such as a light, or mixer, etc. is plugged into the receptacle and powered on?

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old house, old question on gfci drgkjd Electrical 8 05-22-2013 05:30 PM
GFCI outlet and breaker question danette32 Electrical 5 02-11-2012 06:25 PM
GFCI Conduit question llenod Electrical 3 04-06-2011 01:09 PM
GFCI question. Please Help. the banana k1ng Electrical 4 10-09-2009 08:35 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts