Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2009, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


My old fan has the basic white to white-black to black-red to black(for light)

the wall switch operates the ceiling fan motor and light. to sep. wall switches.

my new fan has a remote with white and black and blue

then just white and black to supply circuit.
(also grounds)



my questions.

what to do to the red?
when i hook up everything whites to whites, black to black even black to red and black turn on power and nothing happens when the remote is pressed.

iv'e tried with switches off and on.(light kit on fan is not hooked up yet)


any thoughts???


Last edited by tommy281; 11-04-2009 at 06:03 PM.
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 06:10 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


In the manual under troubleshooting it states.

do not connect fan with wall mounted speed controls.
maybe a re-wire in there is in order although with both switches on full id think it should work?







Last edited by tommy281; 11-04-2009 at 06:39 PM.
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Ok iv'e got it working

now another question.

I also hooked the fan up with-out the remote

power supply- -------------fan

white----------------- white
black-------------------- black
red--------------------- blue

all grounds


everything seemed to work fine. so my question is. do i have to use the remote?? any danger to the fan by not using the remote??

thanks-
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Take the speed control out and install a on/off toggle switch. Cap the red wires on both ends and you will be good to go.

Does the remote wire up in the canopy?
You do not have to use the remote if it is a stand alone unit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 08:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Quote:
do i have to use the remote??
No. You have separate switch legs for the fan and light so they can be controlled via the existing switch(es).
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 08:17 PM   #6
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


I second JBFAN, get rid of your old switch, replace it with a light switch, you will NOT be using the red wire, so cap it off, tape it up, push it in the back of the box on both ends.

The remote control is not necessary, but...do you have pull strings with the fan to control the speed or light (other than cutting it off by the wall switch) - if no pull string, then you maybe stuck with using the remote.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 08:20 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Quote:
Originally Posted by fltdek View Post
I second JBFAN, get rid of your old switch, replace it with a light switch, you will NOT be using the red wire, so cap it off, tape it up, push it in the back of the box on both ends.

The remote control is not necessary, but...do you have pull strings with the fan to control the speed or light (other than cutting it off by the wall switch) - if no pull string, then you maybe stuck with using the remote.


Thanks no strings. I do have two seperate wires for the light and fan speed.

why replace the switch??

after hooking everything up(no remote)the light dim switch will not dim the lights (candelabra bulbs)only high setting.
the fan speed seems to be working ok.

Last edited by tommy281; 11-04-2009 at 08:49 PM.
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 09:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Ok iv'e hooked up the remote as the fan operation is more smooth.
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 09:59 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


I can tell im going to hate the remote

maybe a slider switch would work??
tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 10:06 PM   #10
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


I had to take a second look at the switch, realizing its a dimmer switch, so I guess if you wanted to control the fan that way you could, but seeing that you have the remote hooked up, probably not worth removing the remote at this point, just leave the switches at full setting for using the remote and or use the switches.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 10:09 PM   #11
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Something else to consider, remotes dont last forever, the receivers go bad, hang on to your owners manual and receipt for warranty purposes, in the event you need a replacement.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:12 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Another ceiling fan hook-up question(with remote)


Thanks-

The remote goes up in the base of the fan. right where the wires get stuffed in the ceiling box. ya, its in the way.....
just dont like the remote.

Im going to pick up something like this-
hopfully it will work

tommy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way wiring- ceiling fan with remote for two-wire hookup mr_snuffle Electrical 24 08-16-2009 12:01 AM
Old ceiling replacement idsp General DIY Discussions 12 07-25-2009 11:48 AM
ceiling fan remote craines Electrical 6 01-26-2009 09:02 PM
Converting ceiling fan wall controls to remote crappyhandyman Electrical 5 08-02-2008 10:58 AM
Hampton Bay Remote Ceiling Fan esqjd Electrical 16 01-14-2008 06:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.