Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 06:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

another barn wiring question


First post on this forum, though I've enjoyed reading through it the last several days. Lots of great information. I've done some electrical work in the past, but reading the posts on here I can tell the depth of my knowledge is sorely lacking. Which brings me to my questions.

I am running a water line out to a barn that has neither power or water. In the future I want to run power out to the barn, but am not doing so at the moment for cost reasons.

But while I have a trench open I would like to bury conduit or conduit/wire for the future electrical addition, so I don't have to trench again. I'm not going to do the wiring myself apart from possibly running conduit and wire, but b/c the project is to be completed at some date in the future I have not consulted a local electrician.

I think I will want a 100 amp panel when I finally do run electric to the barn. The barn is for agricultural purposes and possibly a shop there as well.

My questions are these:

1. Will an electrician work with already existing conduit/wire or will they want to run it themselves?

2. Will the electrical inspector want to see the trench before it is filled in? And can I put a water line and electric line in the same trench?

3. Assuming I can lay the conduit myself, what size should I use? It's about 200' from the house to the barn. Including the turns to come out of the ground there are 5 90 degree turns. Unfortunately there are some structures between the house and barn that prevent a simpler run.

4. Planning much further into the future.... I would like at some point to put solar panels on the barn roof to power the barn and possibly the house. At which point I would like to use the already buried line that has been powering the barn to send solar power to the house. The house currently has 200amp service. If this solar panel thingy on the barn to house is even possible, I would like to run wire to support that now or at least plan conduit wise for it to be able to be run. So what type of wire/coduit would be required to do this?

5. If I just forget the solar panel thing, what type of wire should I use for 100 amp service at 200' for the barn?

Thanks

Wendell

wendell2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:47 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

another barn wiring question


you are only allowed a total of 360 deg (4 90s)in a run of pipe. this is a minor problem. you could install a pull box, underground cable, or change the piping

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 07:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

another barn wiring question


I would run 2 seperate conduit lines. Digging the trench is the hard part, and that you are doing anyway. If you have two different sources you would be best to seperate them from each other. Buring the conduit shouldn't cause any concern by an electrician, but if you run the wire he may not want to do the work since he can't physically verify the condition of the wire. The pull box is an excellent idea regardless of the 90's. That's a long run to pull a service line. And are you using pvc conduit? If so you may be able to lessen the amount of 90's. You may want to consider a couple of pull boxes.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

another barn wiring question


why dig two trenches? they can be put in the same hole.(no code restrictions) the only thing he would need is to come outta the ground at some point to a Jbox and then go right back down.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 09:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

another barn wiring question


I didn't say two trenches. I suggested two conduits. My reference was to the trench he was already digging for the water, I.E. that "is the hard part". Sorry for any confusion.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 11:15 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

another barn wiring question


For that kind of distance, I'd bury at least a 2" PVC conduit for future wires.
As for those bends in the pipe, be sure to get some "long sweep" bends, which will make wire pulling MUCH easier.

IF you can make those turns gradually, instead of abrupt 90 bends, you might be able to use straight pipes and lay `em in the trench without angle fittings.

Such configurations can make wire pulling feel like straight pipe runs, even though they may gradually "turn" along the way.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 01:19 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

another barn wiring question


Just keep in your mind with KB's comment with very long sweep ell's most case you may not find them in the big box store but for sure electrical supply will stock them you have to ask them for it.

I go thru quite few of very long sweep ells they really worth it with pretty long runs or both long run and large conductors they worth the extra cost to make it easier to pull it.

{ Some case very few big box store may have them but check with them }

Otherwise what few of electricians do is heat them up and bend them to very long sweep which I do that from time to time this part is little tricky to do it without getting the PVC conduit collosped or kinked.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 01:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

another barn wiring question


Why run two conduits? You are are allowed to have only one electrical feed between any two buildings.

(For the U.S. the most efficient way is to run a 120/240 volt line consisting of two hots, one neutral, and a grounding conductor.)
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 02:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

another barn wiring question


Allan The OP has the intention of using solar at the barn, and being able to use it to supply power to the residence. The systems need to be seperate....that's why the two conduits.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 07:23 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

another barn wiring question


I did noticed the OP mention solar panel at the barn building that is a good way to use it however I haven't reserch fully with new updated NEC code related to the solar panels but you will need a disconnect switch before it can go in the conduit { it will be seperated from the other conduit } and at the controller box next to the electrique meter device again you will need a disconnect as well and it have to be well marked where the source is comming from.

Note this part is still changing along the way so the best infomation you can get is from the inspector they may know something in your area what it can be allowed and what not.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:04 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

another barn wiring question


Thanks guys for the suggestions. I appreciate it.

wendell2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about AFCI and Ontario code as well as some other general wiring queries drunken0monkey Electrical 5 06-15-2010 09:49 AM
Yet another subpanel wiring question Chris_M Electrical 6 06-10-2010 05:12 PM
Wiring Question bahaisamurai Electrical 3 02-22-2009 11:06 AM
Question with wiring up a flood light. SuperAkuma Electrical 6 09-20-2008 10:58 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.