Analog Vs. Digital - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2009, 11:02 AM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Analog Vs. Digital

I'm not sure if this is the right forum but here it goes...

So i'm interested in getting this video system by where it uses Power over ethernet cameras. These are not IP cameras but instead they just use CAT5 wires to carry power ing and signal.
Now the thing is is that I hate to be stuck with having to purchase their cameras. I called a vendor and they said you'd have to use their cameras because they use special wiring. meaning I can just buy any cameras that uses CAT5s and plug them in.

So now I'm wondering if i can use any analog video security cameras and I should be fine right? I'd just have to find which pair of wires in the ON-Q systems that uses power and signal and wire them accordingly to the analog camera right?


genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:41 AM   #2
Tool Geek
PaliBob's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160

Analog Vs. Digital

Originally Posted by genner View Post
I'm not sure if this is the right forum but here it goes...
Genner you might get more responses on the DIY Home Theater page:

or the Computer page:


& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 04-14-2009 at 11:44 AM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:44 PM   #3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,306
Rewards Points: 708

Analog Vs. Digital

It looks to me that what you've got are digital cameras. Analog would be 75 ohms, and require coaxial cable.

So, the answer to your question would be no. You cannot use any analog camera. Digital output is not likely to be compatible with equipment other than that designed for this system, unless it were standard TCP/IP, which you say it is not.

IMO, you would have been better off using standard web cameras, which use Cat5E cable, or no cable (wireless) and are compatible with everything.


Last edited by KE2KB; 04-14-2009 at 03:46 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Top of Page | View New Posts