Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-21-2012, 10:29 PM   #1

Share |
Exclamation

Analog multimeter shows voltage even with 3-way switch off

Friends,

Since this my first post I would like to so I have read the posting rules so I would to start off with an introduction of my background and knowledge.
I currently work as an IT Systems Administration and Engineering, or in slightly more lamens terms; I am an Information Technology Consultant for a company that specializes in designing, implementing and building computer and server networks for small and medium businesses. I have been doing it for over 15 years and I have extensive knowledge in the low voltage industry. And I enjoy it and am a pretty quick learner.

Big change came a few years ago when I finally became a homeowner. And of course I jumped right into the Mr. Fixit role and am loving it. I do have to admit that I am not a licensed electrician and I am aware of the liability and limitations of what I can do. That being said while I will always call in a professional (and have on several occasions) once I have fully understood the problem so I can in 100% accuracy describe what I need the repair technician needs to do. That has resulted in a 100% satisfaction rate with the work done as well as good payment to a professional that deserves it. This means I wish for a full and complete explanation (if possible) of what my problem is and how it can be trouble-shot and corrected (if possible with renovation or w/e); not so that I can do it but so I can get the right person to do what I need.

Hopefully no one's' eyes are bleeding yet, so now I bring you to my problem.