Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2011, 11:51 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1
You have heard it already so I won't harp on it, but the previous posts although abrasive are correct.

The question I have is, when you shorted the line did you indeed get any sparks? You haven't said whether you did or not.

If you did then I would be looking at replacing the breaker.

If you did not get sparks then you didn't ground the circuit (a foolish thing to do intentionally)

Any time line comes in contact with neutral or ground without a load (a dead short) the breaker must trip, if it doesn't then the breaker is faulty.

Mark
Yea I did ground the circuit and yes I did get sparks

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:54 AM   #17
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
They are both bonded to the electrode. That's why I think the equipment ground acted as the grounded conductor in that situation
A GEC and an electrode have nothing to do with a breaker tripping.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 12:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05

A GEC and an electrode have nothing to do with a breaker tripping.
I know that. I'm saying that's why it didn't trip. I was completing the circuit. Would u agree?
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 12:54 PM   #19
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
I know that. I'm saying that's why it didn't trip. I was completing the circuit. Would u agree?
Nope.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:04 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Amateur question


The significant bonding in this discussion is where the ground wire (equipment grounding conductor; EGC) from the receptacle in question connects to the fat service entrance neutral. Most likely this is through the ground bus bar of the breaker panel then through the back of the panel to the neutral bus bar.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:18 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ
The significant bonding in this discussion is where the ground wire (equipment grounding conductor; EGC) from the receptacle in question connects to the fat service entrance neutral. Most likely this is through the ground bus bar of the breaker panel then through the back of the panel to the neutral bus bar.
The jumper
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:20 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05
Nope.
If take a already installed receptical and swap the neutral and the ground, wouldn't that receptical still work?
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:23 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


The more I think about it, the more I think I was completing the circuit
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:36 PM   #24
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
If take a already installed receptical and swap the neutral and the ground, wouldn't that receptical still work?
Of course it would work, electrons do not know the difference in wires.

This a theoretical answer only.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:38 PM   #25
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
The more I think about it, the more I think I was completing the circuit

I think you need to go to school/classes. You lack basic training.

I sound harsh, but it is true.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-14-2011)
Old 09-14-2011, 01:44 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05

I think you need to go to school/classes. You lack basic training.

I sound harsh, but it is true.
I hate it when someone insults my intelligence! I just asked if I was completing the circuit by touching the hot and GEC together and "YOU SAID NO". Then you come back with your last post. Your contradicting yourself here dude.
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:46 PM   #27
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Amateur question


I'm wondering what the boss was thinking in having someone with no training, a self proclaimed "amateur", doing electrical work at a place of business.

Is this in the USA?
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:49 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B.

If take a already installed receptical and swap the neutral and the ground, wouldn't that receptical still work?
I knew the answer to this question my friend. I was asking you to see if you knew, because your last post made me think you didn't understand
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:50 PM   #29
Not a Noob or Boob
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Amateur question


Rob1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:53 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Amateur question


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r
I'm wondering what the boss was thinking in having someone with no training, a self proclaimed "amateur", doing electrical work at a place of business.

Is this in the USA?
I never said that i was a amature, go back and read it again. And i do have training sir. I'm in my third year. And my boss likes me alot. I do great work. That's why I have gotten a raise every time I was evaluated

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
Amateur Question lda130 HVAC 11 04-17-2009 08:24 AM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.