Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 08:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


i had this house basically gutted and rewired 18 years ago..at that time they put in a new breaker box with breakers. i am positive that this is a "one room problem" because when the breaker trips, it is the one room only, and it corresponds with the info on the breaker, and with the wiring diagrams left by the electricians...this is my question...can i possibly be using 20 amps (on my circuit breaker), with what i am running???
2 ..52" ceiling fans...almost always on
4 15 watt spiral energy eff. bulbs...
blower for the fireplace...almost always on
t.v....sony, 32"....6 years old
aquarium...this is what i've been able to find out
heater...200 watts...on and off all of the time
filter...0.02 watts per 24 hours
air pump...can't believe that can draw enough to count
why does my breaker trip every time i try to plug in a vaccuum cleaner, or anything else?? I just can't believe i am using that much ...my total electric bill for the whole house is less than $90.00 a month...am i really using 20 amp just in my living room??? donna
donna13350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 08:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 135
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


You very well could be. A vacuum can use 10-12 amps alone sometimes.
Try shutting off the tv or another large usage item and then try again.
Also the breaker may be getting bad and tripping prematuraly.
Plumbvoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


You might need to borrow a clamp-on ammeter to check current draw. if you fix just one thing with this meter it will pay for itself.
You'd need to pull slightly over 20A for quite a while to trip this breaker. I'd say loose connections at the breaker, or bad breaker.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 01-28-2009 at 09:16 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


Quote:
Originally Posted by donna13350 View Post
2 ..52" ceiling fans...almost always on
4 15 watt spiral energy eff. bulbs...
blower for the fireplace...almost always on
t.v....sony, 32"....6 years old
aquarium...this is what i've been able to find out
heater...200 watts...on and off all of the time
filter...0.02 watts per 24 hours
air pump...can't believe that can draw enough to count
why does my breaker trip every time i try to plug in a vaccuum cleaner, or anything else?? I just can't believe i am using that much ...my total electric bill for the whole house is less than $90.00 a month...am i really using 20 amp just in my living room??? donna
some fans can use 2-400 watts each
bulbs 60w
blower - not much I'd think
TV - what type? CRT 100 or more watts, Plasma up to 500w or more
Heater 200w
Vac - mine says 12 amps

20a = 2400 watts
So yeah, very easy to trip it with a vac & other loads
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


I'd reasonably say so. Vacuums draw more than most people usually think. 12 amps or even more isn't unheard of, and you might already be drawing 8-10 with the other stuff.

Plug in the vacuum in an adjoining room if possible, or turn off the TV and the fans while vacuuming. That should probably solve it for the short term. In the long term, think about adding a circuit to the room. It's always nice to have the overhead lighting and fans on its own circuit. (It might not be that difficult if the space underneath the room happens to be unfinished and accessible.)
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:59 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


Yup, the vacuum uses a lot of power. I'd say that's definitely what's causing the breaker to overload and trip.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 03:03 AM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,471
Default

am i really using using 20 amps???


Quote:
Originally Posted by donna13350 View Post
.......... and it corresponds with the info on the breaker..........
But there may be other loads on the breaker. Turn the breaker Off and make sure that you can turn everything else ON.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-18-2012 11:35 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 08:39 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.