Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-02-2005, 09:04 PM   #1
LMH

Share |

Aluminum-wired house, questions

Hi everyone. First off, I am not an electrician, and have no desire to do any of this work myself; I merely want an education so I know what I may be facing and know what questions to ask my electrician. Hopefully some of you can help me. I realize this is a dyi forum, so I am hoping some of you have diy-d something like this before.

I will try to give as many details as I can. Better too many details than too few I guess?

I have a condo, built in 1972, with aluminum wiring. When I bought it two years ago the home inspector told me I had aluminum wiring with pigtails.

The main power source breaker is for four attached units and I have an electrical panel in my unit that contains the breakers for inside my condo only.

The panel in my condo has Bryant Type BR breakers with CU-AL labeling. I cannot see the wiring in the panel to see if there are copper pigtails or not.

All switches and receptacles (including 240 for my A/C unit) have copper wiring in them, but again, I cannot see past the boxes to see if or how they are pigtailed (COPALUM or wire nut or Ideal).

My baseboard heaters are still aluminum. From what I could see without disturbing too much, they are fed with Type NM two-wire bare ground.

I have had no problems at all with warm/burnt boxes or any sign of other problems. The boxes for the pig-tailed switches and receptacles and panel look relatively new, probably less than 10 years old?

Now, like I said, I just want to be informed, not do the work myself, so here are my questions: