Aluminum Stranded Wire On QO Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10

Aluminum stranded wire on QO breaker?


I just purchased a new Leviton whole-house surge suppressor (model 51110-001):

It requires a 2-pole 20 amp breaker. I have a Square D 200 amp service panel (house is new -- about 3 years old) and I have installed a new QO 20 amp breaker (model QO220CP) to be dedicated to the surge suppressor connection:

However, I noticed the Leviton SPD has what appears to be stranded aluminum wires rather than copper which I thought was unusual. Is it acceptable to attach the stranded aluminum wires to the breaker even though the breaker has copper terminals? Do I need to use an anti-oxidant compound on the wires before connecting them to the breaker?



swbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 01:12 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,289
Rewards Points: 2,974

Aluminum stranded wire on QO breaker?

I doubt that is AL.
More likely tined copper.
Nolox not required.


Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (04-18-2012)
Old 04-19-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500

Aluminum stranded wire on QO breaker?

QO breakers can use copper or aluminum conductors for one-wire applications. if using two-wire terminations (i.e. two conductors on the load terminal), then they must be copper. Stranded or solid doesn't matter.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote

aluminum , breaker , copper , stranded , wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size wire and breaker needed? stlouistruckn1 HVAC 4 02-06-2012 09:35 PM
Stranded wire connections at subpanel. woodardhsd Electrical 4 03-18-2011 12:41 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 09:41 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Stranded wire connections Cossack Electrical 7 03-14-2008 10:56 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts