Aluminium Wiring. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 10:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Have some plugs that have aluminum wires in them. I am trying to upgrade to deco style plugs (square style). Does anyone know if it would be bad to use the copper plugs.
J

Advertisement

AirdrieHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,715
Rewards Points: 546
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Do not do it. the connections will corrode and cause an arc.
Look for switches made just for aluminum wiring. There clearly marked in any home center or electrical supply house. There will be the letters AL on the side of them.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Aluminium wiring.


That's what I thought.

Would you happen to know where I can buy the square deco style plugs
AirdrieHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,715
Rewards Points: 546
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Your in Canada and I'm in the US no idea what's avalable in your area.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:11 AM   #5
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AirdrieHandyman View Post
Have some plugs that have aluminum wires in them. I am trying to upgrade to deco style plugs (square style). Does anyone know if it would be bad to use the copper plugs.
J
Read this..

http://www.pelicanstate.net/Download...The%20Home.pdf
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:14 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
Your in Canada and I'm in the US no idea what's avalable in your area.
We have most of the same availability here where would you go for this.
J
AirdrieHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:35 AM   #7
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Whatever you do, make sure to use an approved grease.
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 06:54 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
Whatever you do, make sure to use an approved grease.
Can you explain a bit more about this?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:30 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,715
Rewards Points: 546
Default

Aluminium wiring.


http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/home-...iring-2002.php
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:01 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Aluminium wiring.


I have never seen Decora fixtures for al wire, but they may exist. One way to use them would be to use a copper pigtail, and wirenut with al approved wirenuts and no-ox or similar grease.

As suggested in the link on one of the posts, the wire is not the problem, the fixtures that the wire connects to is the problem. Always look for AL compatible fixtures.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:13 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,715
Rewards Points: 546
Default

Aluminium wiring.


http://www.westsidewholesale.com/ele...on-1755-w.html
Leviton makes side screws on there switches that can use copper or aluminum.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 11:47 AM   #12
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Can you explain a bit more about this?
Aluminum oxidizes without any grease. Eventually making a poor connection. Most aluminum rated connectors come with grease in them, but if it doesnt, its easily over looked by a homeowner and imo its the most important precaution with aluminum
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:59 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AirdrieHandyman View Post
Have some plugs that have aluminum wires in them. I am trying to upgrade to deco style plugs (square style). Does anyone know if it would be bad to use the copper plugs.
J
You can pigtail a copper jumper to the aluminum wiring. Use the copper jumper on the devices. See the picture below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
Aluminum oxidizes without any grease. Eventually making a poor connection. Most aluminum rated connectors come with grease in them, but if it doesnt, its easily over looked by a homeowner and imo its the most important precaution with aluminum
We don't call anti oxidation compounds grease.
That is why he questioned you.
Attached Images
 
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 04:07 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Aluminium wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
Aluminum oxidizes without any grease. Eventually making a poor connection. Most aluminum rated connectors come with grease in them, but if it doesnt, its easily over looked by a homeowner and imo its the most important precaution with aluminum
First off, it is NOT grease. it is anti-oxidant paste.
Second, it is not required by code, but it is a good idea for larger conductors.
Third, You MUST use the proper device or connection for small AL conductors.
Lastly, AL conductors never come with anti-ox already in/on them.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:05 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Aluminium wiring.


If I do the copper pigtails to the plug using the aluminum to copper maretts should I do the same with the ground wire

Advertisement

AirdrieHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 11:33 AM
Aluminium Wiring Several Questions Chemist1961 Electrical 6 01-18-2009 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts