Alternative Ground For Electric Piano - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-09-2009, 10:40 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Alternative Ground for electric piano

Greetings,

I am an American musician living in France. Most of my gear is American, and my keyboards and amps require a step-down transformer. The transformers I have that are not dedicated to more energy intensive uses can receive a 3 pole plug (hot, neutral and ground, I believe) but do not have a ground on the male end, thus the ground dies in the transformer.

Can I safely use an insulated wire (say, a speaker wire) to attach the ground pole on the plug to another ground pole in a unit that is grounded? Is this okay if the units themselves are linked by a 1/4 inch sound cable?

Thanks for your help!

Advertisement

McWhanTobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 12:37 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,048

It is almost always OK to take a ground wire and run it from one piece of equipment to the next, with the far end connected to a known ground such as plumbing that is all metal out through the foundation. The ground wire does not need to be insulated.

You can plug each piece of equipment into a 3 prong to 2 prong adapter and connect your ground wire to each of the adapter grounding lugs, or you can connect the ground wire to the frame (chassis) of each piece of equipment by using a screw that penetrates the plastic case or cabinet or already attaches to the chassis.

Occasionally you get hum in the audio if two or more ground connections such as the shields of two audio cables go from one piece of equipment to another. But I think that a separately run ground wire of 14 gauge or heavier should reduce instead of increase any such hum.