Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2008, 01:38 PM   #16
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by dc4nomore View Post
I know what you mean there with the one wire to each switch...that would make it MUCH more simplified. I was almost tempted to wire each thing on it's own circuit to simplify things, but I didn't want to waste the wire or the space in my service panel.

I think I may add a junction box in between the switch box and the 2 lights to slightly simplify it. But I don't think I can feed the power from the attic to the switch box, because there is another switch box not shown that the power is actually coming from.

Thanks a lot for the help!
If you can fish the 2 piece of wire up to the lights, as shown in your first diagram, then just use the larger plastic box, and it will all be easy. I would not suggest you create an additional junction box unless that is really necessary.

It is EASY to make this many connections in a large plastic box.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:38 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 177
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this allowed??


Thanks a lot everyone for your help. I feel fairly confident now that I'll be able to do this properly. I pretty much asked this same question in another post yesterday titled "need help with kitchen lighting!" but got nothing! Today I got more help than I could have asked for.

Thank you all! I've got to get off the computer now and actually go do this before the wife kills me! I'll keep you updated if any problems arise...
dc4nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:39 PM   #18
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this allowed??


If you are using 14/2, then box fill should not be a problem in a 2-gang box. Stay with the plan of running the power to the switch box, not the fixture. As far as the 7 ground wires, pick up one of the 8 hole Wago or Ideal connectors and use that.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:40 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 177
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
If you can fish the 2 piece of wire up to the lights, as shown in your first diagram, then just use the larger plastic box, and it will all be easy. I would not suggest you create an additional junction box unless that is really necessary.

It is EASY to make this many connections in a large plastic box.

Jamie
Ok, I'll do as you suggest, without adding the junction box. I just have to find something that will allow me to spice that many ground wires at Home Depot. Thanks!
dc4nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:44 PM   #20
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by dc4nomore View Post
I think I will get the deep plastic box you are talking about. Thanks.

Haha my lighting circuit probably isn't as complicated as yours, but this isn't all of it! There are 4 more can lights and possibly some undercabinet lights as well.
Good Luck!

This is the rough in work for my drop down electrical connections (lights and counter top electrical.

Attachment 6432
Attachment 6433
Attachment 6434

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:47 PM   #21
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Is this allowed??


http://www.idealindustries.com/produ...in/in-sure.jsp

You can use one of these, they are really easy to use, and they make them to support up to 8 connections. They should have them at home depot.



Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 12:56 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 177
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Good Luck!

This is the rough in work for my drop down electrical connections (lights and counter top electrical.

Attachment 6432
Attachment 6433
Attachment 6434

Jamie

Jamie, that does look pretty complicated! But why all the blue flexible conduit? Is that required in your area?

Everyone, I got this all squared away the other day with no further complications thanks to your help! I went with a plastic box, with a 5/8" "extender" plate that gave me a total cubic in. of around 40. I couldn't find one of those Ideal "in-sure" connectors large enough to hold all the grounds, but I did find a large enough wire nut. I got the insulation in last night. Drywall should be going up this weekend. Then we're on the home stretch!!

Thanks!
dc4nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 02:59 PM   #23
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by dc4nomore View Post
Jamie, that does look pretty complicated! But why all the blue flexible conduit? Is that required in your area?
Glad to hear your making progress!

They are not required, just mainly a matter of personal preference. They give me a lot of flexibility as well. We won't make our final decision on light and switch placement until we get some more stuff built, but I wanted to be able to get some of the switch boxes in and some stuff closed up that would be really difficult to route wires to later. I am also going to have to use shallow boxes in some areas for switches. This setup also allows me to minimize / eliminate wire nuts & connections in the switch boxes with limited room. I make all the junctions in this box, and just push down the wires I need to switch.

Conduit gives you tons of flexibility to easily change your mind later (esp with 3/4way switch setups, which I know we are going to do in this kitchen. :-)

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:26 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this allowed??


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Glad to hear your making progress!

They are not required, just mainly a matter of personal preference. They give me a lot of flexibility as well. We won't make our final decision on light and switch placement until we get some more stuff built, but I wanted to be able to get some of the switch boxes in and some stuff closed up that would be really difficult to route wires to later. I am also going to have to use shallow boxes in some areas for switches. This setup also allows me to minimize / eliminate wire nuts & connections in the switch boxes with limited room. I make all the junctions in this box, and just push down the wires I need to switch.

Conduit gives you tons of flexibility to easily change your mind later (esp with 3/4way switch setups, which I know we are going to do in this kitchen. :-)

Jamie

Looks hard if you did conduit or flexible metallic conduit. No point of flexible metallic conduit, 6ft max to keep the jacket as an egc.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 11:31 PM
selling allowed on this site/forum? mikehende Building & Construction 2 04-15-2008 11:59 AM
PVC piping allowed in NY? honeydew Plumbing 6 11-21-2007 07:57 AM
Am I (legally) allowed to paint copyrighted material inside and/or out? Fira Painting 15 11-15-2007 07:07 PM
Pigtail inside panel box. Code allowed? KUIPORNG Electrical 7 08-22-2006 04:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.