Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


plugged in hair dryer, lost all oulets and litghts. breaker did not pop. there is a gfr, i changed that our. still nothing. the breaker is a double with zone heater. they still operate. there is power leaving breaker but only heaters operating. iam lost at what to do!

rogerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerdog2 View Post
plugged in hair dryer, lost all oulets and litghts. breaker did not pop. there is a gfr, i changed that our. still nothing. the breaker is a double with zone heater. they still operate. there is power leaving breaker but only heaters operating. iam lost at what to do!
You replaced the GFI? If so, push the reset button on the GFI. Not sure you had to replace it, but ...

You may want to check other GFIs in the house as well/

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:39 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerdog2 View Post
plugged in hair dryer, lost all oulets and litghts. breaker did not pop. there is a gfr, i changed that our. still nothing. the breaker is a double with zone heater. they still operate. there is power leaving breaker but only heaters operating. iam lost at what to do!
I just want to make sure I did this part right.,,

Ya did replace the GFCI or what ya call gfr and did you hook them up in correct way the line ( supply ) side go to the line side of the GFCI and the outgoing on load side ?

Now the other thing it kinda bother my mind a little why two pole breaker if you have heater on them ( this part you will need to find out if the heater is set up for 120 or 240 volt )

Look at the rest of the house to find the other GFCI it will be in other bathroom or garage or basement or outside or some area which ya never look at it ( where the stuff piled up and not see a receptale behind it )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:10 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


thanks, marc, yes did replace gfci, you're right, probably waste of money since there is no power to it to test. checked and pushed all other gfci's in house. the heaters are 240 and are on double breaker with lights and outlets. some one mentioned possible "bad leg" at breaker box, how would overload ie: dryer plugged in, cause problem with leg for lights, outlets? man iam lost.

thanks rogerdog2
rogerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


Do you have a voltmeter? If so, let's check that GFI receptacle that you replaced. Unhook it from the receptacle box, and check for voltage between whites and blacks. Look up carefully into the box, and find each pair of wires (B+W) coming into the box. Check between each of these two wires.

Can you upload a pic of the GFCI outlet?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerdog2 View Post
thanks, marc, yes did replace gfci, you're right, probably waste of money since there is no power to it to test. checked and pushed all other gfci's in house. the heaters are 240 and are on double breaker with lights and outlets. some one mentioned possible "bad leg" at breaker box, how would overload ie: dryer plugged in, cause problem with leg for lights, outlets? man iam lost.

thanks rogerdog2
Ok that will kinda narrow down a little which you have classic sign of open netural but beware on this one due this set what you have there is a very good chance you have MWBC ( multi wire branch circuit ) but all it depending on what is on the breaker itself ( the numbers of conductors hook up at the breaker.)

Well it may be a possiblty that you may have bad busstab below the breaker but I doubt it due if you have the heaters working good so I may elemated that part so start at your breaker box and look at the breaker connection and go from there.

One warning when you look at the two pole breaker be aware some case the white conductor on the breaker itself is NOT netural it is alive so that is the extra step you really have to be on the toes on this part.

You may have to look at the basement or attic to see where you have open splices some case you will get lucky fast so start the receptale nearest of the breaker box and work it way out which that is typical to do the circuit layout.

If you are not really confortable then I will suggest have a electrician come out and assit you on this one.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:26 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

all outlets and lights out in master bedroom


Probably a loose connection at a push-in connector. Check the receptacles on that circuit, starting with the one closest to the bedroom that still works.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power too lighting in Master bedroom, hallway and bathroom(also fan) wackyned Electrical 15 11-09-2012 10:19 AM
Several outlets and lights on a circuit are not functioning, while others are fine. mrdojo Electrical 12 03-26-2012 06:23 PM
Need to rewire outlets and lights..HELP suboveryde Electrical 1 11-02-2010 06:19 PM
All the lights and Outlets on one Breaker? jonathan03 Electrical 7 03-15-2010 12:30 PM
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 09:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.