All My Bathroom Outlet Don't Have Power - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2010, 09:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


I'm not exactly sure how this happened but all my bathroom outlets ran out of power over the weekend.

Also the GFCI outlet outside at the patio does not produce power.

I checked my fuse box, and power cycled , and it seems to have power at the fuse box, but not at the receptacle...

Do all the bathroom outlets somehow come together at one point in my attic?

Advertisement

nugentoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Is there a GFCI outlet in the bathroom or somewhere else that feeds the bathroom ?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 10:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


A hidden GFCI somewhere is the likely cause if both the hot and the neutral have become open-circuited.
If only the hot or only the neutral is lost, it's a bad wirenut or outlet connection.
You'll need an incand. [not neon] test lamp, an extension cord and some clip leads to test for these conditions.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-13-2010 at 10:33 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:07 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,356
Rewards Points: 3,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Most likely cause is a GFCI tripped somewhere or the one you found is bad. Most common place is in the garage behind the pile of stuff or the beer fridge. It is not uncommon in older homes to have all the GFCI receptacles on the same circuit. Those would include garage, outside and all bathroom receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:23 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Ok, I have a multi-meter with some pretty thin leads that I can get to the neutral and hot ... Do I measure the AC voltage with respect to the ground (middle) plug?

Scuba_dave, both bathrooms do not have a GFCI outlet (house is about 20yrs old).

Sorry I miswrote in my opening post, the outdoor patio outlet is just the one with a spring cover for outdoor use, it is NOT a GFCI outlet.
nugentoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:53 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Quote:
Originally Posted by nugentoffer View Post
Ok, I have a multi-meter with some pretty thin leads that I can get to the neutral and hot ... Do I measure the AC voltage with respect to the ground (middle) plug?

Scuba_dave, both bathrooms do not have a GFCI outlet (house is about 20yrs old).

Sorry I miswrote in my opening post, the outdoor patio outlet is just the one with a spring cover for outdoor use, it is NOT a GFCI outlet.
Just because the outlet's in question are not GFCI, does not mean that its not fed by a GFCI. I would look for a GFI somewhere in the house and see if its tripped. It might be somewhere that does not get used much or at all.
Volteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 07:03 AM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Could it be the GFCI on the patio feeds the bathrooms? I owned a hose in CT built in 1978 where there was a GFCI in the downstairs bath that fed 2 baths upstairs and 2 outside outlets. Certainly not to code today, maybe not even then.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 09:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Normally you test hot to neutral to see if the receptacle is live.

Once in a blue moon you have to do other tests, like hot to ground, to be sure. If you get power you know the circuit is live but if you do not get power, there are numerous places where the break could be.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 09:32 AM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,356
Rewards Points: 3,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


Like I said ysetreday. Your updates just confirm my thinking. LOOK FOR A TRIPPED GFCI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Most likely cause is a GFCI tripped somewhere or the one you found is bad. Most common place is in the garage behind the pile of stuff or the beer fridge. It is not uncommon in older homes to have all the GFCI receptacles on the same circuit. Those would include garage, outside and all bathroom receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 10:16 AM   #10
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,299
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

all my bathroom outlet don't have power


I had a call to a home built in the last eight (8) years. Lost power to both baths and receptacle on back porch at the same time. I'm thinking GFCI on the way over. No GFCI in either bath or back porch. I ask to see the panel, no GFCI breaker in panel. UH-OH, this means I have to think . After going back and looking through both baths and the porch again I go back to the panel. While looking in the panel I happened to back up and noticed a GFCI outlet mounted at panel height, just maybe six inches to the right of the panel, the open panel door was hiding it--odd place to me. Resetting this GFCI outlet restored power to both baths and back porch. Being as the homeowner knew her neighbor well I asked to look at that home, same set-up. So-a GFCI outlet seems to be the consensus here as to the answer to your problem. It may be located in some odd place. David

Advertisement

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much distance should the vanity top and the electrical outlet in the bathroom? Tobeyone Electrical 2 02-03-2010 12:12 PM
No power at outlet furdur Electrical 7 12-19-2009 09:14 PM
help with power outlet leony Electrical 10 12-13-2007 10:50 AM
GFCI Outlet installation in bathroom... budde97 Electrical 4 02-11-2007 01:22 AM
Outlet in bathroom for lights.... TerryL Electrical 5 10-28-2006 09:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts